Monday, March 22, 2010

Committee Room 1

Bill 242, An Act to amend the Education Act and certain other Acts in relation to early childhood educators, junior kindergarten and kindergarten, extended day programs and certain other matters



1. Appointment of the Sub-committee on Committee Business


2. Report of the Sub-committee on Committee Business


2:00 p.m.

Kate Tennier

2:10 p.m.

YMCA Ontario
Shaun Elliott, President and Chief Executive Office, YMCA Western Ontario
Linda Cottas, Senior Vice-President, Child, Youth and Family Development, YMCA Greater Toronto Area
Jennifer Holmes Weier, External Relations Manager, Federal and Provincial Affairs

2:20 p.m.

Ontario Public School Boards' Association (OPSBA)
Colleen Schenk, President
Catherine Fife, Vice-President
Riley Brockington, Vice-President

2:30 p.m.

Beatty Buddies Daycare
Lisa Winters-Murphy, Managing Director

2:40 p.m.

Family Day Care Services
Joan Arruda, Chief Executive Officer
Doug Brown, Board Member

2:50 p.m.

Ontario Principals' Council
Doug Morrell, President

3:00 p.m.

Quality Early Learning Network (QELN)

3:10 p.m.

Boys and Girls Clubs of Canada
Pam Jolliff, President and Chief Exectuive Officer
Sandra Morris, Regional Director, Central Region

3:20 p.m.

Faywood Boulevard Child Care
Kim Cullen, Executive Director

3:30 p.m.

Building Stranger Future

3:40 p.m.

Home Child Care Association of Ontario
Spyros Volonakis, President

3:50 p.m.

Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation (OSSTF)
Ken Coran, President
Dale Leckie, Director, Protective Services

4:00 p.m.

Atkinson Centre for Society and Children Development / Ontario Institute for Studies in Education
Zeenat Janmohamed, Coordinator
Carl Corter, Professor, University of Toronto

4:10 p.m.

Child Development Institute
Tony Diniz, Executive Director

4:20 p.m.

Campaign 2000 / Family Service Toronto
Laurel Rothman, National Coordinator / Director, Social Reform

4:30 p.m.

Canadian Union of Public Employees - Local 2484 (CUPE)
Janet Teibo, Local Coordinator

4:40 p.m.

Schoolhouse Playcare Centres of Durham
Denise Gilbert, Executive Director

Karen Monaghan, Board Member

4:50 p.m.

Association of Day Care Operators of Ontario
Kim Yeaman, Co-President

Greg Humphreys, Past President

5:00 p.m.

Peter Varmuza

5:10 p.m.

Westend Parent Daycare
Brigitte Lavoie, Treasurer

5:20 p.m.

George Brown College School of Early Childhood
Patricia Chorney Rubin, Director

5:30 p.m.

Today's Family Early Learning and Child Care
Marni Flaherty, Chief Executive Officer

5:40 p.m.

College of Early Childhood Educators
Lois Mahon, President of Council
Dainora Juozapavicius, Registrar and Chief Executive Officer
Debbie Tarshis, Legal Counsel

5:50 p.m.

South-Asian Women’s Rights Organization
Sultana Jahangir, Executive Director

Shamima Islam, Coordinator