41:2 Bill 37, Protecting Students Act, 2016

Hunter, Hon Mitzie Minister of Education

Viewing: Royal Assent (current version) pdf

Debates and Progress

First Reading

October 5, 2016 


Second Reading

October 17, 2016 

Principal Debaters:

Hon. Mitzie Hunter, Hon. Indira Naidoo-Harris, Mr. Granville Anderson, Mr. Lorne Coe, Mrs. Lisa Gretzky, Mr. Randy Pettapiece, Hon. Kathryn McGarry, Mr. Bob Delaney, Ms. Sophie Kiwala, Hon. Kevin Daniel Flynn, Ms. Catherine Fife

Questions and Comments:

Mr. Toby Barrett, Ms. Peggy Sattler, Hon. Michael Gravelle, Mr. Monte McNaughton, Ms. Jennifer K. French, Miss Monique Taylor, Ms. Daiene Vernile, Mr. Todd Smith, Mr. Paul Miller, Mr. Lou Rinaldi, Mr. Rick Nicholls, Mr. Percy Hatfield, Mr. Arthur Potts, Mr. Jeff Yurek, Mr. Shafiq Qaadri, Mr. Toby Barrett, Mr. John Vanthof

October 18, 2016 

Principal Debaters:

Mr. Mike Colle, Ms. Lisa M. Thompson, Ms. Jennifer K. French

Questions and Comments:

Mr. Ted Arnott, Mrs. Lisa Gretzky, Mr. Ted McMeekin, Mr. Bill Walker, Ms. Teresa J. Armstrong, Hon. Dipika Damerla, Mr. Robert Bailey, Mr. Jagmeet Singh

October 19, 2016 

Principal Debaters:

Ms. Jennifer K. French, Hon. Dipika Damerla, Mr. Lou Rinaldi, Hon. David Zimmer, Mr. Robert Bailey, Mr. Jim McDonell

Questions and Comments:

Mr. Todd Smith, Mr. Jagmeet Singh, Ms. Teresa J. Armstrong, Mrs. Cristina Martins, Ms. Catherine Fife, Hon. Tracy MacCharles, Ms. Laurie Scott

Time Allocation

October 20, 2016 

Hon. Yasir Naqvi, Mr. Lorne Coe, Mr. John Vanthof, Hon. Michael Coteau, Ms. Lisa MacLeod, Mrs. Lisa Gretzky

October 20, 2016 (Continued) 

Mr. Arthur Potts, Ms. Jennifer K. French

Declared carried. 

October 24, 2016

Vote deferred. 

October 25, 2016 

Carried on recorded division.  Referred to Standing Committee on Finance and Economic Affairs pursuant to the order of the House.   


Standing Committee on Finance and Economic Affairs  

October 27, 2016 

November 3, 2016 

November 14, 2016

Reported to the House as amended. Ordered for third reading pursuant to the order of the House.

Third Reading

November 14, 2016

Principal Debaters

Hon. Mitzie Hunter, Mr. Lorne Coe, Ms. Peggy Sattler, Mr. Granville Anderson, Mrs. Lisa Gretzky

Vote deferred. 

November 15, 2016 

Carried on recorded division.  

Royal Assent

 Monday, December 05, 2016
Current Parliament
Past & Present