Bill 12, Protection for Motor Vehicle Accident Victims and Other Consumers from Unfair Legal Practices Act, 2016

Hudak, Tim

Current Status: First Reading Carried

Viewing: Original (current version) pdf

Bill 12                                                                                                                                                    2016

An Act to amend the Law Society Act, the Insurance Act and the Solicitors Act with respect to referral fees, contingency fees and awards for personal injury involving the use of an automobile

Her Majesty, by and with the advice and consent of the Legislative Assembly of the Province of Ontario, enacts as follows:

Law Society Act

   1.  Section 26.1 of the Law Society Act is amended by adding the following subsections:

Definition

   (7.1)  In subsections (7.2) and (7.3),

“personal injury claim” means a proceeding for loss or damage from bodily injury or death arising from the use or operation, on or after November 1, 1996, of an automobile in Canada, the United States of America or a jurisdiction designated in the Statutory Accident Benefits Schedule as defined in subsection 224 (1) of the Insurance Act.

No referral fees

   (7.2)  Subject to subsection (7.3), no licensee shall, directly or indirectly,

  (a)  solicit or accept a referral fee from another licensee in exchange for directly or indirectly encouraging or otherwise arranging for a client to retain the other licensee to receive legal services with respect to a personal injury claim; or

  (b)  pay a referral fee to another licensee in exchange for having the other licensee directly or indirectly encourage or otherwise arrange for a client to retain the licensee paying the fee for the purpose of receiving legal services with respect to a personal injury claim.

Exception

   (7.3)  If a licensee, directly or indirectly, encourages or otherwise arranges for a client to retain another licensee to receive legal services in respect of a personal injury claim and if there is a successful disposition or completion of the claim, nothing in subsection (7.2) prevents the licensees from entering into a contingency fee agreement that provides that the licensee retained by the client will pay a fee to the first licensee out of the remuneration that the client is required to pay to the licensee so retained if the fee does not exceed the amount, if any, prescribed by the regulations made under section 63.

   2.  The Act is amended by adding the following sections in Part II after the heading “Conduct”:

Contingency fees charged by paralegals

   32.  Unless they specifically provide otherwise, section 28.1 of the Solicitors Act and the regulations made under that section apply to a person who is licensed to provide legal services in Ontario but who is not licensed to practise law in Ontario as a barrister and solicitor, reading references in that section to a solicitor as references to such a person.

Agreements between paralegals and clients as to compensation

   32.1  (1)  A person who is licensed to provide legal services in Ontario but who is not licensed to practise law in Ontario as a barrister and solicitor may make an agreement in writing with his or her client respecting the amount and manner of payment for the whole or a part of any past or future services in respect of business done or to be done by the person, either by a gross sum or by commission or percentage, or by salary or otherwise, and either at the same rate or at a greater or less rate than that at which he or she would otherwise be entitled to be remunerated.

Fee disclosure

   (2)  The agreement shall disclose, in a clear, comprehensible and prominent manner, the means by which the remuneration for legal services to be paid to the person is calculated.

   3.  Subsection 63 (1) of the Act is amended by adding the following paragraph:

    9.  prescribing an amount for the purposes of subsection 26.1 (7.2);

Insurance Act

   4.  Subsection 121 (1) of the Insurance Act is amended by adding the following paragraph:

23.6.6 prescribing amounts for the purposes of subsection 267.9.1 (1);

   5.  The Act is amended by adding the following section:

Immunity for part of medical and rehabilitation costs

   267.9.1  (1)  Despite any other Act or agreement to the contrary, no action or other proceeding for damages as a result of personal injury may be commenced against any person for,

  (a)  any portion of the costs of any assessment, examination, test or report of a regulated health professional that exceeds $2,000 or such other amount that is prescribed by the regulations; or

  (b)  any portion of the costs of any other medical care or rehabilitation that a regulated health professional provides and that exceeds the amount, if any, that is set out in guidelines published by the Superintendent or such other amount that is prescribed by the regulations.

Definition

   (2)  In subsection (1),

“regulated health professional” means a health practitioner whose profession is regulated under the Regulated Health Professions Act, 1991.

Superintendent’s guidelines

   (3)  The Superintendent may issue guidelines for the purposes of clause (1) (b) and if so, shall publish them on a site on the Internet.

Solicitors Act

   6.  Section 16 of the Solicitors Act is amended by adding the following subsection:

Fee disclosure

   (3)  The agreement shall disclose, in a clear, comprehensible and prominent manner, the means by which the remuneration for legal services to be paid to the solicitor is calculated.

   7.  (1)  Subsection 28.1 (4) of the Act is repealed and the following substituted:

Written agreement

   (4)  A contingency fee agreement shall be in writing and shall disclose, in a clear, comprehensible and prominent manner,

  (a)  the means by which the part of the remuneration for legal services to be paid to the solicitor that is contingent as described in subsection (2) is calculated, including the percentage used if the agreement involves a percentage of the amount or of the value of the property recovered in an action or proceeding; and

  (b)  all other matters relating to the agreement that the regulations made under subsection (12) prescribe.

Cancellation by client

   (4.1)  A client who has entered into a contingency fee agreement may, without any reason, cancel the agreement at any time.

   (2)  Subsection 28.1 (5) of the Act is amended by adding “Subject to subsection (5.1)” at the beginning.

   (3)  Section 28.1 of the Act is amended by adding the following subsection:

Exception, personal injury award

   (5.1)  If a contingency fee agreement involves a percentage of the amount of damages recovered in a proceeding for loss or damage from bodily injury or death arising from the use or operation, on or after November 1, 1996, of an automobile in Canada, the United States of America or a jurisdiction designated in the Statutory Accident Benefits Schedule as defined in subsection 224 (1) of the Insurance Act, the amount to be paid to the solicitor as a fee for recovering those damages shall not be more than 33 per cent of the amount, regardless of how the amount is recovered and despite the regulations made under this Act.

   (4)  Subsection 28.1 (6) of the Act is amended by adding “or (5.1)” after “Despite subsection (5)” at the beginning.

Commencement and Short Title

Commencement

   8.  This Act comes into force on the day it receives Royal Assent.

Short title

   9.  The short title of this Act is the Protection for Motor Vehicle Accident Victims and Other Consumers from Unfair Legal Practices Act, 2016.

 

EXPLANATORY NOTE

The Bill amends the Law Society Act to prohibit licensees who provide legal services with respect to a personal injury claim involving the use of an automobile from receiving referral fees except on the successful completion or disposition of the claim. Regulations that are made by the Law Society, subject to the approval of the Lieutenant Governor in Council, can limit the amount of allowable referral fees.

The Bill amends the Insurance Act to cap the amount of recovery of the costs of assessments, examinations, tests, reports or other medical care or rehabilitation provided by a regulated health professional in claims for personal injury involving the use of an automobile.

The Bill amends the Solicitors Act. If a lawyer or a paralegal enters into a fee agreement with a client, the agreement must disclose how the fee is calculated. The disclosure must be consumer-friendly, namely in a clear, comprehensible and prominent manner. If the fee involves a percentage of the amount of damages recovered with respect to a personal injury claim involving the use of an automobile, the amount to be paid to the lawyer or paralegal as a fee for recovering the damages is limited to 33 per cent of the amount of the damages.

 

Current Parliament
Past & Present

Projet de loi 12, Loi de 2016 sur la protection des victimes d'accidents de véhicules automobiles et d'autres consommateurs contre les pratiques juridiques injustes

Hudak, Tim

État des travaux: Première lecture adopté

Affiché: Original (Version actuelle) pdf

Projet de loi 12                                                                                                                                   2016

Loi modifiant la Loi sur le Barreau, la Loi sur les assurances et la Loi sur les procureurs en ce qui concerne les commissions pour recommandation, les honoraires conditionnels et les indemnités pour lésions corporelles impliquant l’usage d’une automobile

Sa Majesté, sur l’avis et avec le consentement de l’Assemblée législative de la province de l’Ontario, édicte :

Loi sur le Barreau

   1.  L’article 26.1 de la Loi sur le Barreau est modifié par adjonction des paragraphes suivants :

Définition

   (7.1)  La définition qui suit s’applique aux paragraphes (7.2) et (7.3).

«demande d’indemnisation pour lésions corporelles» Instance pour pertes ou dommages résultant de lésions corporelles ou d’un décès qui découlent de l’usage ou de la conduite d’une automobile, le 1er novembre 1996 ou après cette date, au Canada, aux États-Unis d’Amérique ou dans un ressort désigné dans l’Annexe sur les indemnités d’accident légales au sens du paragraphe 224 (1) de la Loi sur les assurances.

Commissions pour recommandation interdites

   (7.2)  Sous réserve du paragraphe (7.3), nul titulaire de permis ne doit, directement ou indirectement :

    a)  soit solliciter ou accepter une commission pour recommandation de la part d’un autre titulaire de permis en échange du fait d’encourager un client, directement ou indirectement, à retenir les services de cet autre titulaire de permis pour recevoir des services juridiques à l’égard d’une demande d’indemnisation pour lésions corporelles, ou de prendre des dispositions en ce sens;

    b)  soit verser une commission pour recommandation à un autre titulaire de permis pour qu’il encourage un client, directement ou indirectement, à retenir les services du titulaire de permis qui verse la commission pour recevoir des services juridiques à l’égard d’une demande d’indemnisation pour lésions corporelles ou pour qu’il prenne des dispositions en ce sens.

Exception

   (7.3)  Si un titulaire de permis encourage un client, directement ou indirectement, à retenir les services d’un autre titulaire de permis pour recevoir des services juridiques à l’égard d’une demande d’indemnisation pour lésions corporelles, ou prend des dispositions en ce sens, et qu’une décision favorable est rendue concernant la demande ou que cette dernière fait l’objet d’un règlement favorable, le paragraphe (7.2) n’a pas pour effet d’empêcher les titulaires de permis de conclure une entente sur des honoraires conditionnels qui prévoit que le titulaire de permis dont les services ont été retenus par le client versera au premier titulaire de permis une commission prélevée sur la rémunération que le client est tenu de lui verser, si cette commission ne dépasse pas le montant éventuel que prescrivent les règlements pris en vertu de l’article 63.

   2.  La Loi est modifiée par adjonction des articles suivants à la partie II après l’intertitre «Conduite» :

Honoraires conditionnels exigés par les parajuristes

   32.  Sauf disposition contraire expresse y figurant, l’article 28.1 de la Loi sur les procureurs et les règlements pris en vertu de cet article s’appliquent à une personne qui est pourvue d’un permis l’autorisant à fournir des services juridiques en Ontario mais qui n’est pas pourvue d’un permis l’autorisant à pratiquer le droit en Ontario en qualité d’avocat, les mentions d’un procureur dans cet article valant mention d’une telle personne.

Ententes entre parajuristes et clients relativement à la rémunération

   32.1  (1)  Une personne qui est pourvue d’un permis l’autorisant à fournir des services juridiques en Ontario mais qui n’est pas pourvue d’un permis l’autorisant à pratiquer le droit en Ontario en qualité d’avocat peut conclure une entente par écrit avec son client à l’égard du montant et du mode de paiement de la totalité ou d’une partie des services rendus ou à rendre à l’égard d’une affaire traitée ou à traiter par la personne, sous une forme quelconque et notamment sous forme de montant forfaitaire, de commission, de pourcentage ou d’un salaire et selon un tarif égal, supérieur ou inférieur à celui qui s’appliquerait par ailleurs.

Divulgation de la rémunération

   (2)  L’entente indique de façon claire, compréhensible et bien en évidence le mode de calcul de la rémunération pour les services juridiques devant être versée à la personne.

   3.  Le paragraphe 63 (1) de la Loi est modifié par adjonction de la disposition suivante :

    9.  prescrire le montant pour l’application du paragraphe 26.1 (7.2);

Loi sur les assurances

   4.  Le paragraphe 121 (1) de la Loi sur les assurances est modifié par adjonction de la disposition suivante :

23.6.6 prescrire les montants pour l’application du paragraphe 267.9.1 (1);

   5.  La Loi est modifiée par adjonction de l’article suivant :

Immunité pour une partie des frais médicaux et de réadaptation

   267.9.1  (1)  Malgré toute autre loi et toute convention à l’effet contraire, sont irrecevables les actions ou autres instances en dommages-intérêts introduites contre toute personne en raison de lésions corporelles pour :

    a)  une partie des frais relatifs à une évaluation, un examen, un test ou un rapport d’un professionnel de la santé réglementé excédant 2 000 $ ou l’autre montant que prescrivent les règlements;

    b)  une partie des frais relatifs aux soins médicaux et de réadaptation fournis par un professionnel de la santé réglementé qui excède le montant éventuel qui est indiqué dans les directives publiées par le surintendant ou l’autre montant que prescrivent les règlements.

Définition

   (2)  La définition qui suit s’applique au paragraphe (1).

«professionnel de la santé réglementé» Praticien de la santé dont la profession est réglementée en application de la Loi de 1991 sur les professions de la santé réglementées.

Directives du surintendant

   (3)  Le surintendant peut formuler des directives pour l’application de l’alinéa (1) b) et, le cas échéant, les publie sur un site Internet.

Loi sur les procureurs

   6.  L’article 16 de la Loi sur les procureurs est modifié par adjonction du paragraphe suivant :

Divulgation de la rémunération

   (3)  L’entente indique de façon claire, compréhensible et bien en évidence le mode de calcul de la rémunération pour les services juridiques devant être versée au procureur.

   7.  (1)  Le paragraphe 28.1 (4) de la Loi est abrogé et remplacé par ce qui suit :

Entente écrite

   (4)  L’entente sur des honoraires conditionnels est rédigée par écrit et indique les renseignements suivants de façon claire, compréhensible et bien en évidence :

    a)  le mode de calcul de la partie de la rémunération pour les services juridiques devant être versée au procureur qui est subordonnée de la façon indiquée au paragraphe (2), notamment le pourcentage utilisé si l’entente met en cause un pourcentage du montant ou de la valeur des biens recouvrés dans une action ou une instance;

    b)  les autres questions se rapportant à l’entente que prescrivent les règlements pris en vertu du paragraphe (12).

Résiliation par le client

   (4.1)  Le client qui a conclu une entente sur des honoraires conditionnels peut, sans aucun motif, la résilier à n’importe quel moment.

   (2)  Le paragraphe 28.1 (5) de la Loi est modifié par insertion de «Sous réserve du paragraphe (5.1),» au début du paragraphe.

   (3)  L’article 28.1 de la Loi est modifié par adjonction du paragraphe suivant :

Exception : indemnités pour lésions personnelles

   (5.1)  Si une entente sur des honoraires conditionnels met en cause un pourcentage du montant de dommages-intérêts recouvrés dans une instance pour pertes ou dommages résultant de lésions corporelles ou d’un décès qui découlent de l’usage ou de la conduite d’une automobile, le 1er novembre 1996 ou après cette date, au Canada, aux États-Unis d’Amérique ou dans un ressort désigné dans l’Annexe sur les indemnités d’accident légales au sens du paragraphe 224 (1) de la Loi sur les assurances, le montant qui doit être versé au procureur à titre d’honoraires pour le recouvrement de ces dommages-intérêts ne doit pas être supérieur à 33 % de leur montant, sans égard à la manière dont le montant est recouvré et malgré les règlements pris en vertu de la présente loi.

   (4)  Le paragraphe 28.1 (6) de la Loi est modifié par insertion de «ou (5.1)» après «Malgré le paragraphe (5)» au début du paragraphe.

Entrée en vigueur et titre abrégé

Entrée en vigueur

   8.  La présente loi entre en vigueur le jour où elle reçoit la sanction royale.

Titre abrégé

   9.  Le titre abrégé de la présente loi est Loi de 2016 sur la protection des victimes d’accidents de véhicules automobiles et d’autres consommateurs contre les pratiques juridiques injustes.

 

note explicative

Le projet de loi modifie la Loi sur le Barreau pour interdire aux titulaires de permis qui fournissent des services juridiques à l’égard d’une demande d’indemnisation pour lésions corporelles impliquant l’usage d’une automobile de toucher des commissions pour recommandation, sauf lorsqu’une décision favorable est rendue concernant la demande ou que cette dernière fait l’objet d’un règlement favorable. Les règlements pris par le Barreau, sous réserve de l’approbation du lieutenant-gouverneur en conseil, peuvent plafonner le montant des commissions pour recommandation permises.

Le projet de loi modifie la Loi sur les assurances pour établir un plafond quant au recouvrement des frais relatifs à une évaluation, un examen, un test ou un rapport ou des frais relatifs aux soins médicaux ou de réadaptation fournis par un professionnel de la santé réglementé dans le cadre des demandes d’indemnisation pour lésions corporelles impliquant l’usage d’une automobile.

Le projet de loi modifie la Loi sur les procureurs. Si un avocat ou un parajuriste conclut une entente sur des honoraires avec un client, l’entente doit indiquer le mode de calcul des honoraires d’une façon qui soit claire, compréhensible et bien en évidence pour le consommateur. Si les honoraires comprennent un pourcentage du montant de dommages-intérêts recouvrés dans le cadre d’une demande d’indemnisation pour lésions corporelles impliquant l’usage d’une automobile, le montant qui doit être versé à l’avocat ou au parajuriste à titre d’honoraires pour le recouvrement de ces dommages-intérêts ne doit pas être supérieur à 33 % de leur montant.

 

Législature actuelle
Toutes les législatures