Bill 53, Growing Ontario's Craft Cider Industry Act, 2016

Jones, Sylvia Gates, Wayne Potts, Arthur

Current Status: First Reading Carried

Viewing: Original (current version) pdf

Bill 53                                                                                                                                                    2016

An Act to amend the Liquor Control Act

Her Majesty, by and with the advice and consent of the Legislative Assembly of the Province of Ontario, enacts as follows:

   1.  Section 3 of the Liquor Control Act is amended by adding the following subsections:

Definitions

   (1.2)  In this subsection and subsections (1.3) and (1.4),

“cider” means cider as described in section B.02.120 of the Food and Drug Regulations made under the Food and Drugs Act (Canada) and the cider-like beverage made from the fermented juice of pears known as perry; (“cidre”)

“Ontario cider” means cider produced in Ontario from apples or other fruit grown in Ontario. (“cidre de l’Ontario”)

Limit on mark-up or tax on sale of cider

   (1.3)  Despite anything in subsection (1) or the regulations made under this Act, the Board shall not impose any mark-up or tax on the sale of any class or type of Ontario cider, whether at a government store or otherwise, that exceeds the mark-up or tax that the Board imposes on the sale of any class or type of beer, whether at a government store or otherwise.

No liability to pay

   (1.4)  No person is liable to pay any portion of a mark-up or tax on the sale of Ontario cider, whether at a government store or otherwise, that the Board imposes in contravention of subsection (1.3).

Commencement

   2.  This Act comes into force on the day it receives Royal Assent.

Short title

   3.  The short title of this Act is the Growing Ontario’s Craft Cider Industry Act, 2016.

 

EXPLANATORY NOTE

The Bill amends the Liquor Control Act so that the mark-up or tax that the Liquor Control Board of Ontario imposes on the sale of any class or type of Ontario cider, including craft cider, whether at a government store or otherwise, does not exceed the mark-up or tax that the Board imposes on the sale of any class or type of beer, including craft beer, whether at a government store or otherwise.

 

Current Parliament
Past & Present

Projet de loi 53, Loi de 2016 sur la croissance de l'industrie du cidre artisanal de l'Ontario

Jones, Sylvia Gates, Wayne Potts, Arthur

État des travaux: Première lecture adopté

Affiché: Original (Version actuelle) pdf

Projet de loi 53                                                                                                                                   2016

Loi modifiant la Loi sur les alcools

Sa Majesté, sur l’avis et avec le consentement de l’Assemblée législative de la province de l’Ontario, édicte :

   1.  L’article 3 de la Loi sur les alcools est modifié par adjonction des paragraphes suivants :

Définitions

   (1.2)  Les définitions qui suivent s’appliquent au présent paragraphe et aux paragraphes (1.3) et (1.4).

«cidre» Cidre selon la description figurant à l’article B.02.120 du Règlement sur les aliments et drogues pris en vertu de la Loi sur les aliments et drogues (Canada) ainsi que la boisson du même genre faite avec du jus fermenté de poire et appelée poiré. («cider»)

«cidre de l’Ontario» Cidre produit en Ontario à partir de pommes ou d’autres fruits cultivés en Ontario («Ontario cider»).

Plafond : marge bénéficiaire et taxe sur la vente de cidre

   (1.3)  Malgré le paragraphe (1) ou les règlements d’application de la présente loi, la Régie ne doit pas imposer sur la vente de toute catégorie ou de tout type de cidre de l’Ontario, dans les magasins du gouvernement ou ailleurs, une marge bénéficiaire ou une taxe qui dépasse celle qu’elle impose sur la vente de toute catégorie ou de tout type de bière dans de tels magasins ou ailleurs.

Aucune obligation de payer

   (1.4)  Nul n’est obligé de payer une quelconque portion de la marge bénéficiaire ou de la taxe sur la vente de cidre de l’Ontario, dans les magasins du gouvernement ou ailleurs, que la Régie impose contrairement au paragraphe (1.3).

Entrée en vigueur

   2.  La présente loi entre en vigueur le jour où elle reçoit la sanction royale.

Titre abrégé

   3.  Le titre abrégé de la présente loi est Loi de 2016 sur la croissance de l’industrie du cidre artisanal de l’Ontario.

 

note explicative

Le projet de loi modifie la Loi sur les alcools afin que la marge bénéficiaire ou la taxe que la Régie des alcools de l’Ontario impose sur la vente de toute catégorie ou de tout type de cidre de l’Ontario, notamment le cidre artisanal, dans les magasins du gouvernement ou ailleurs, ne dépasse pas la marge bénéficiaire ou la taxe qu’elle impose sur la vente de toute catégorie ou de tout type de bière, notamment la bière artisanale, dans de tels magasins ou ailleurs.

 

Législature actuelle
Toutes les législatures