Viewing: Original (current version) pdf

Enhancing Shareholder Rights Act, 2017

EXPLANATORY NOTE

The Bill makes various amendments to the Business Corporations Act with respect to meetings of shareholders, the process for electing directors and the use of proxies. 

The new Part IX.1 requires certain corporations to place before the shareholders, at every annual meeting, information respecting diversity among directors and the members of senior management.

Finally, the Act is amended to provide shareholders with the opportunity to propose an executive compensation policy at a meeting of shareholders. The directors of the corporation are required to comply with the policy if it is adopted. 


Bill 101                                                                                                                                     2017

An Act to amend the Business Corporations Act with respect to meetings of shareholders, the election of directors and the adoption of an executive compensation policy

Her Majesty, by and with the advice and consent of the Legislative Assembly of the Province of Ontario, enacts as follows:

1 Subsection 99 (4) of the Business Corporations Act is repealed and the following substituted:

Proposal may include nominations

(4)  A proposal may nominate a single individual for election as a director if the proposal is signed by one or more registered holders of shares or beneficial owners of shares that represent in the aggregate,

  (a)  at least 3 per cent of the shares of the corporation; or

  (b)  at least 3 per cent of the shares of a class or series of shares of the corporation that are entitled to vote at the meeting to which the proposal is to be presented.

Nominations at meeting not prevented

(4.1)  For greater certainty, subsection (4) does not prevent nominations being made at a meeting of shareholders.

Chair at meeting

(4.2)  Despite clause 97 (c), if a proposal described in subsection (4) of this section has been submitted, the shareholders present at a meeting of shareholders shall choose a person from their number to preside as chair. 

2 Subsection 105 (1) of the Act is repealed and the following substituted:

Requisition for shareholders meeting

(1)  One or more registered holders of shares or beneficial owners of shares that represent in the aggregate at least 3 per cent of the issued shares of the corporation may requisition the directors to call a meeting of shareholders for the purposes stated in the requisition.

3 Section 110 of the Act is amended by adding the following subsections:

Same

(3.1)  Every form of proxy shall provide a means for the shareholder to specify that the shares registered in the shareholder’s name shall be voted for or against the election of any director who is to be elected at a meeting of shareholders.

Same

(3.2)  Every form of proxy shall include the names of all director nominees included in a proposal made under subsection 99 (4). 

4 Subsection 112 (1) of the Act is repealed and the following substituted:

Information circular

(1)  No person shall solicit proxies unless an information circular, in the prescribed form, is sent to each shareholder whose proxy is solicited, to each director and, in the case set out in clause (b), to the corporation as follows:

  (a)  in the case of solicitation by or on behalf of the management of a corporation, a management information circular, either as an appendix to or as a separate document accompanying the notice of the meeting; or

  (b)  in the case of any other solicitation, a dissident’s information circular stating the purposes of the solicitation shall be included with the management information circular described in clause (a) unless the dissident chooses to send it as a separate document. 

5 (1)  Subsection 119 (4) of the Act is amended by striking out “and at each succeeding annual meeting at which an election of directors is required”. 

(2)  Section 119 of the Act is amended by adding the following subsections: 

Same, annual meetings

(4.1)  Subject to clause 120 (a), shareholders of a corporation shall elect, by ordinary resolution at each succeeding annual meeting at which an election of directors is required, directors to hold office for a term expiring not later than the close of the next annual meeting of shareholders following the election. 

Votes to elect director

(4.2)  Despite subsections (4) and (4.1), a person may be elected as a director only if a majority of the votes cast are in favour of his or her election, even if the articles or by-laws of the corporation provide otherwise. 

Same, separate vote for each candidate

(4.3)  A separate vote of shareholders shall be taken with respect to each candidate nominated for director. 

Same, mandatory voting

(4.4)  Every shareholder who is entitled to vote in an election of directors and who is present in person at a meeting of shareholders of a corporation at which an election of directors occurs must cast a vote in favour of or against every candidate, even if the articles or by-laws of the corporation provide otherwise. 

Majority voting

(4.5)  If, at a meeting of shareholders of a corporation at which an election of directors is required, there is only one candidate nominated for each position available on the board, each candidate is elected only if the number of votes cast in the candidate’s favour represents a majority of the votes cast for and against the candidate by the shareholders who are present in person or represented by proxy, unless the articles require a greater number of votes. 

Beneficial owners

(4.6)  A person who claims to be a beneficial owner of shares of a corporation is entitled to vote in an election of directors if the person provides proof that the person is a beneficial owner of shares of the corporation. 

(3)  Subsection 119 (8) of the Act is repealed and the following substituted:

Vacancy

(8)  If, for either of the following reasons, a meeting of shareholders fails to elect the number or the minimum number of directors required by the articles, the directors elected at the meeting may exercise all the powers of the directors if the number of directors so elected constitutes a quorum:

    1.  A lack of consent, disqualification under subsection 118 (1) or the death of any candidates.

    2.  A lack of majority referred to in subsection (4.5) of this section. 

Appointment of directors

(8.1)  The directors may, unless the articles otherwise provide, appoint one or more additional directors, who shall hold office for a term ending not later than the close of the next annual meeting of shareholders, but the total number of directors so appointed shall not exceed one-third of the number of directors elected at the previous annual meeting of shareholders.

Exception

(8.2)  If a candidate was not elected during an election held in accordance with subsection (4.3), the candidate is not to be appointed, except in prescribed circumstances, as a director under subsection (8.1) or 124 (1), before the next meeting of shareholders at which an election of directors is required. 

6 Section 137 of the Act is amended by adding the following subsection:

Executive compensation policy

(2)  The directors of a corporation shall fix the remuneration of the directors and officers of the corporation in accordance with any adopted executive compensation policy referred to in section 169.1.

7 The Act is amended by adding the following Part after section 137:

PART IX.1
Disclosure relating to diversity

Diversity in corporations

137.1  (1)  The directors of a prescribed corporation shall place before the shareholders, at every annual meeting, the prescribed information respecting diversity among the directors and among the members of senior management as defined in the regulations. 

Information to shareholders and Director

(2)  The corporation shall send the information referred to in subsection (1) to each shareholder, except to a shareholder who has informed the corporation in writing that the shareholder does not want to receive that information. The corporation shall concurrently send the information to the Director.

8 The Act is amended by adding the following section:

Proposal to adopt, amend or repeal executive compensation policy

169.1  A registered holder of shares entitled to vote, or a beneficial owner of shares that are entitled to be voted, at an annual meeting of shareholders may, in accordance with section 99, make a proposal to adopt an executive compensation policy with respect to the remuneration of directors or officers of the corporation or may make a proposal to amend or repeal such a policy.

Commencement

9 This Act comes into force on the day it receives Royal Assent.

Short title

10 The short title of this Act is the Enhancing Shareholder Rights Act, 2017.

Current Parliament
Past & Present

Projet de loi 101, Loi de 2017 visant à accroître les droits des actionnaires

Takhar, Harinder S.

État des travaux: renvoi au comité permanent Comité permanent des finances et des affaires économiques

Affiché: Original (Version actuelle) pdf

Loi de 2017 visant à accroître les droits des actionnaires

note explicative

Le projet de loi apporte diverses modifications à la Loi sur les sociétés par actions en ce qui concerne les assemblées des actionnaires, l’élection des administrateurs et le recours à des procurations.

La nouvelle partie IX.1 exige que certaines sociétés présentent aux actionnaires, à chaque assemblée annuelle, des renseignements concernant la diversité au sein des administrateurs et des membres de la haute direction.

Enfin, la Loi est modifiée de manière à permettre aux actionnaires de proposer l’adoption d’une politique de rétribution des hauts responsables au cours d’une assemblée des actionnaires. En cas d’adoption de cette politique, les administrateurs de la société sont tenus de s’y conformer.


Projet de loi 101                                                                                                                     2017

Loi modifiant la Loi sur les sociétés par actions en ce qui concerne les assemblées des actionnaires, l’élection des administrateurs et l’adoption d’une politique de rétribution des hauts responsables

Sa Majesté, sur l’avis et avec le consentement de l’Assemblée législative de la province de l’Ontario, édicte :

1 Le paragraphe 99 (4) de la Loi sur les sociétés par actions est abrogé et remplacé par ce qui suit :

Proposition pouvant faire état de candidatures

(4)  La proposition peut faire état de la candidature d’un seul particulier en vue de son élection comme administrateur si elle est signée par un ou plusieurs détenteurs inscrits ou propriétaires bénéficiaires d’actions détenant ensemble :

    a)  soit au moins 3 % des actions de la société;

    b)  soit au moins 3 % des actions d’une catégorie ou série d’actions de la société donnant le droit de voter à l’assemblée à laquelle la proposition doit être présentée.

Présentation de candidatures au cours de l’assemblée

(4.1)  Il est entendu que le paragraphe (4) n’empêche pas la présentation de candidatures au cours de l’assemblée des actionnaires.

Présidence de l’assemblée

(4.2)  Malgré l’alinéa 97 c), si une proposition visée au paragraphe (4) du présent article a été déposée, les actionnaires présents à l’assemblée des actionnaires choisissent parmi eux un président.

2 Le paragraphe 105 (1) de la Loi est abrogé et remplacé par ce qui suit :

Demande de convocation d’une assemblée

(1)  Un ou plusieurs détenteurs inscrits ou propriétaires bénéficiaires d’actions détenant ensemble au moins 3 % des actions émises de la société peuvent exiger des administrateurs la convocation d’une assemblée des actionnaires aux fins énoncées dans la demande.

3 L’article 110 de la Loi est modifié par adjonction des paragraphes suivants :

Idem

(3.1)  Toute formule de procuration doit permettre à l’actionnaire de préciser que les voix rattachées aux actions inscrites à son nom doivent être exprimées en faveur de l’élection d’un administrateur devant être élu à l’assemblée des actionnaires, ou contre celle-ci.

Idem

(3.2)  Toute formule de procuration doit comprendre les noms de tous les candidats au poste d’administrateur figurant dans une proposition présentée en vertu du paragraphe 99 (4).

4 Le paragraphe 112 (1) de la Loi est abrogé et remplacé par ce qui suit :

Circulaire d’information

(1)  Nulle personne ne doit solliciter de procurations sans que soit envoyée une circulaire d’information, rédigée selon le formulaire prescrit, à chaque actionnaire dont il est sollicité la procuration, à chaque administrateur et, dans les cas visés à l’alinéa b), à la société et que :

    a)  dans le cas d’une sollicitation faite par la direction de la société ou pour son compte, la circulaire soit une circulaire d’information de la direction, se présentant sous forme d’annexe à l’avis de convocation de l’assemblée ou de document distinct joint à cet avis;

    b)  dans le cas d’une autre sollicitation, une circulaire d’information d’un dissident qui mentionne l’objet de la sollicitation soit comprise dans la circulaire d’information de la direction visée à l’alinéa a), sauf si le dissident choisit de l’envoyer sous forme de document distinct.

5 (1)  Le paragraphe 119 (4) de la Loi est modifié par suppression de «, ainsi qu’à toute assemblée annuelle subséquente à laquelle il faut élire des administrateurs,».

(2)  L’article 119 de la Loi est modifié par adjonction des paragraphes suivants :

Idem : assemblées annuelles

(4.1)  Sous réserve de l’alinéa 120 a), à toute assemblée annuelle subséquente à laquelle il faut élire des administrateurs, les actionnaires élisent, par résolution ordinaire, les administrateurs dont le mandat expirera au plus tard à la clôture de l’assemblée annuelle suivante.

Voix en faveur de l’élection d’un administrateur

(4.2)  Malgré les paragraphes (4) et (4.1), une personne ne peut être élue administrateur que si elle recueille la majorité des voix exprimées, malgré toute disposition contraire des statuts ou des règlements administratifs de la société.

Idem : vote distinct pour chaque candidat

(4.3)  Un vote distinct des actionnaires est tenu pour chaque candidat au poste d’administrateur.

Idem : vote obligatoire

(4.4)  Chaque actionnaire habile à voter à une élection des administrateurs et qui est présent à l’assemblée des actionnaires d’une société au cours de laquelle des administrateurs sont élus doit exprimer sa voix en faveur de chaque candidat ou contre lui, malgré toute disposition contraire des statuts ou des règlements administratifs de la société.

Vote majoritaire

(4.5)  Si, au cours de l’assemblée des actionnaires d’une société à laquelle il faut élire des administrateurs il n’y a qu’un seul candidat par poste d’administrateur à combler, le candidat est élu seulement si le nombre de voix en sa faveur représente la majorité des voix exprimées en sa faveur et contre lui par les actionnaires, présents ou représentés par des fondés de pouvoir, au cours de ce scrutin, à moins que les statuts n’exigent un nombre plus élevé de voix.

Propriétaires bénéficiaires

(4.6)  La personne qui se prétend propriétaire bénéficiaire d’actions d’une société a le droit de voter à l’élection des administrateurs si elle en fournit la preuve.

(3)  Le paragraphe 119 (8) de la Loi est abrogé et remplacé par ce qui suit :

Vacances

(8)  Si, pour l’une ou l’autre des raisons suivantes, les actionnaires ne peuvent élire, à une assemblée, le nombre fixe ou minimal d’administrateurs exigé par les statuts, les administrateurs élus à l’assemblée peuvent exercer tous les pouvoirs des administrateurs s’ils constituent le quorum au sein du conseil d’administration :

    1.  L’absence de consentement, l’inhabilité aux termes du paragraphe 118 (1) ou le décès de candidats.

    2.  L’absence de la majorité visée au paragraphe (4.5) du présent article.

Nomination d’administrateurs

(8.1)  Sauf disposition contraire des statuts, les administrateurs peuvent nommer un ou plusieurs administrateurs supplémentaires, dont le mandat expire au plus tard à la clôture de la prochaine assemblée annuelle des actionnaires, à condition que le nombre total des administrateurs ainsi nommés n’excède pas le tiers du nombre des administrateurs élus à la dernière assemblée annuelle.

Exception

(8.2)  Le candidat qui n’a pas été élu lors d’une élection tenue conformément au paragraphe (4.3), ne peut être nommé, sauf dans les circonstances prescrites, à un poste d’administrateur en vertu du paragraphe (8.1) ou 124 (1), avant la prochaine assemblée au cours de laquelle des administrateurs doivent être élus.

6 L’article 137 de la Loi est modifié par adjonction du paragraphe suivant :

Politique de rétribution des hauts responsables

(2)  Les administrateurs de la société fixent leur propre rémunération ainsi que celle des dirigeants de la société conformément à la politique de rétribution des hauts responsables visée à l’article 169.1 qui a été adoptée.

7 La Loi est modifiée par adjonction de la partie suivante après l’article 137 :

PARTie IX.1
Divulgation de renseignements relatifs à la diversité

Diversité dans les sociétés

137.1  (1)  À chaque assemblée annuelle, les administrateurs d’une société prescrite présentent aux actionnaires les renseignements prescrits concernant la diversité au sein des administrateurs et au sein des membres de la haute direction au sens des règlements.

Envoi aux actionnaires et au directeur

(2)  La société envoie les renseignements visés au paragraphe (1) à chaque actionnaire, sauf à ceux qui l’ont informée par écrit qu’ils ne souhaitent pas les recevoir. Elle envoie simultanément ces renseignements au directeur.

8 La Loi est modifiée par adjonction de l’article suivant :

Proposition d’adoption, de modification ou d’abrogation d’une politique de rétribution des hauts responsables

169.1  Les détenteurs inscrits d’actions habiles à voter et les propriétaires bénéficiaires d’actions avec droit de vote peuvent, à l’assemblée annuelle des actionnaires, présenter une proposition conformément à l’article 99 en vue de l’adoption d’une politique de rétribution des hauts responsables à l’égard de la rémunération des administrateurs ou des dirigeants de la société ou présenter une proposition en vue de la modification ou de l’abrogation d’une telle politique.

Entrée en vigueur

9 La présente loi entre en vigueur le jour où elle reçoit la sanction royale.

Titre abrégé

10 Le titre abrégé de la présente loi est Loi de 2017 visant à accroître les droits des actionnaires.

Législature actuelle
Toutes les législatures