Bill 116, Liquor Statute Amendment Act (Sale of Spirits Manufactured for Brand Owners), 2017

Hatfield, Percy

Current Status: Ordered referred to the Standing Committee on Finance and Economic Affairs

Viewing: Original (current version) pdf

Liquor Statute Amendment  Act (Sale of Spirits Manufactured for Brand Owners), 2017

EXPLANATORY NOTE

Currently, clause 3 (1) (e) of the Liquor Control Act provides that manufacturers of beer and spirits and wineries that manufacture Ontario wine may be permitted to sell their beer, spirits or Ontario wine in stores they own and operate. The Bill amends the Act to provide that a person who contracts with a manufacturer to manufacture spirits in Ontario under a brand the person owns may be permitted to operate a store at which the person sells those spirits to the public. The store must be located within 500 metres from the manufacturer’s manufacturing premises.

A consequential amendment is made to the definition of “distillery retail store” in the Alcohol and Gaming Regulation and Public Protection Act, 1996 to reflect the new type of permission in the Liquor Control Act. The definition applies for the purposes of Part II (Tax on Beer, Wine and Spirits) of that Act.

Bill 116                                                                                                                                  2017

An Act to amend the Liquor Control Act and the Alcohol and Gaming Regulation and Public Protection Act, 1996 with respect to authorizations for brand owners to sell spirits manufactured for them in Ontario

Her Majesty, by and with the advice and consent of the Legislative Assembly of the Province of Ontario, enacts as follows:

1 The definition of “distillery retail store” in subsection 17 (1) of the Alcohol and Gaming Regulation and Public Protection Act, 1996 is repealed and the following substituted:

“distillery retail store” means,

  (a)  a store in Ontario owned and operated by a spirits manufacturer from which the manufacturer is authorized under clause 3 (1) (e) of the Liquor Control Act to sell spirits to purchasers; or

  (b)  a store in Ontario owned and operated by a person that contracts with a manufacturer to manufacture spirits in Ontario under a brand the person owns from which the person is authorized under clause 3 (1) (e.0.1) of the Liquor Control Act to sell spirits to purchasers; (“magasin de détail de distillerie”)

2 Subsection 3 (1) of the Liquor Control Act  is amended by adding the following clause:

(e.0.1) to authorize persons that contract with a manufacturer to manufacture spirits in Ontario under a brand the person owns to operate a store for the sale of those spirits to the public if the store is located within 500 metres of the manufacturer’s manufacturing premises;

Commencement

3 This Act comes into force on the day it receives Royal Assent.

Short title

4 The short title of this Act is the Liquor Statute Amendment  Act (Sale of Spirits Manufactured for Brand Owners), 2017.

Current Parliament
Past & Present

Projet de loi 116, Loi de 2017 modifiant des lois concernant l'alcool (vente de spiritueux fabriqués pour des propriétaires de marque)

Hatfield, Percy

État des travaux: renvoi au comité permanent Comité permanent des finances et des affaires économiques

Affiché: Original (Version actuelle) pdf

Loi de 2017 modifiant des lois concernant l’alcool (vente de spiritueux fabriqués pour des propriétaires de marque)

note explicative

Dans sa version actuelle, l’alinéa 3 (1) e) de la Loi sur les alcools prévoit que les fabricants de bière et de spiritueux et les vineries qui fabriquent des vins de l’Ontario peuvent être autorisés à vendre leurs produits dans des magasins dont ils sont les propriétaires et les exploitants. Le projet de loi modifie la Loi pour prévoir qu’une personne qui conclut un contrat avec un fabricant en vue de faire fabriquer des spiritueux en Ontario sous une marque dont la personne est propriétaire peut être autorisée à exploiter un magasin où elle vend ces spiritueux au public, dans la mesure où ce magasin est situé à 500 mètres ou moins du lieu de fabrication du fabricant.

Une modification corrélative est apportée à la définition de «magasin de détail de distillerie» de la Loi de 1996 sur la réglementation des alcools et des jeux et la protection du public pour tenir compte du nouveau type d’autorisation dans la Loi sur les alcools. La définition s’applique dans le cadre de la partie II (Taxes sur la bière, le vin et les spiritueux) de cette loi.

Projet de loi 116                                                                                                                     2017

Loi modifiant la Loi sur les alcools et la Loi de 1996 sur la réglementation des alcools et des jeux et la protection du public en ce qui concerne les autorisations permettant aux propriétaires de marque de vendre des spiritueux fabriqués pour eux en Ontario

Sa Majesté, sur l’avis et avec le consentement de l’Assemblée législative de la province de l’Ontario, édicte :

1 La définition de «magasin de détail de distillerie» au paragraphe 17 (1) de la Loi de 1996 sur la réglementation des alcools et des jeux et la protection du public est abrogée et remplacée par ce qui suit :

«magasin de détail de distillerie» S’entend :

    a)  soit d’un magasin en Ontario dont le propriétaire-exploitant est une distillerie et dans lequel cette dernière est autorisée en vertu de l’alinéa 3 (1) e) de la Loi sur les alcools à vendre des spiritueux à des acheteurs;

    b)  soit d’un magasin en Ontario dont le propriétaire-exploitant est une personne qui conclut un contrat avec un fabricant en vue de faire fabriquer des spiritueux en Ontario sous une marque dont la personne est propriétaire et dans lequel la personne est autorisée en vertu de l’alinéa 3 (1) e.0.1) de la Loi sur les alcools à vendre des spiritueux à des acheteurs. («distillery retail store»)

2 Le paragraphe 3 (1) de la Loi sur les alcools est modifié par adjonction de l’alinéa suivant :

e.0.1)  autoriser des personnes qui concluent un contrat avec un fabricant en vue de faire fabriquer des spiritueux en Ontario sous une marque dont elles sont propriétaires à exploiter un magasin pour y vendre ces spiritueux au public, dans la mesure où ce magasin est situé à 500 mètres ou moins du lieu de fabrication du fabricant;

Entrée en vigueur

3 La présente loi entre en vigueur le jour où elle reçoit la sanction royale.

Titre abrégé

4 Le titre abrégé de la présente loi est Loi de 2017 modifiant des lois concernant l’alcool (vente de spiritueux fabriqués pour des propriétaires de marque).

Législature actuelle
Toutes les législatures