Bill 147, Safe Night Out Act, 2017

Sattler, Peggy

Current Status: First Reading Carried

Viewing: Original (current version) pdf

Safe Night Out Act, 2017

EXPLANATORY NOTE

The Bill amends the Liquor Licence Act to ensure that sexual violence and harassment training approved by the Alcohol and Gaming Commission of Ontario is provided to all managers of premises in respect of which a licence or permit to sell liquor has been issued and to persons involved in the sale or service of liquor on those premises.  The training would be required, on and after a prescribed date, to be included as part of the server training course currently provided under the Act to those persons.

Bill 147                                                                                                                                     2017

An Act to amend the Liquor Licence Act to provide Sexual Violence and Harassment Training for persons working where liquor is sold

Preamble

In 2015,Ontario’s Select Committee on Sexual Violence and Harassment recommended that sexual assault awareness and intervention training be included as part of Smart Serve Certification for individuals who serve alcohol.

Training front line workers such as bartenders, servers and their managers to recognize the signs of sexual harassment and assault and to intervene in an appropriate manner will promote the safety of all Ontarians and contribute to the reduction of sexual violence in the province.

Therefore, Her Majesty, by and with the advice and consent of the Legislative Assembly of the Province of Ontario, enacts as follows:

1 The Liquor Licence Act  is amended by adding the following section:

Mandatory server training

34.2  (1)  The holder of a licence or permit issued in respect of premises shall ensure that every manager or person involved in the sale or service of liquor whom the licence holder employs holds a certificate demonstrating the successful completion of a server training course approved by the Board.

Sexual violence and harassment training

(2)  On and after the prescribed day, the server training course referred to in subsection (1) shall include a sexual violence and harassment prevention training component approved by the Board.

Commencement

2 This Act comes into force on a day to be named by proclamation of the Lieutenant Governor.

Short title

3 The short title of this Act is the Safe Night Out Act, 2017.

Current Parliament
Past & Present

Projet de loi 147, Loi de 2017 visant à favoriser des sorties sans danger

Sattler, Peggy

État des travaux: Première lecture adopté

Affiché: Original (Version actuelle) pdf

Loi de 2017 visant à favoriser des sorties sans danger

note explicative

Le projet de loi modifie la Loi sur les permis d’alcool pour faire en sorte qu’une formation sur la violence et le harcèlement à caractère sexuel approuvée par la Commission des alcools et des jeux de l’Ontario soit offerte à tous les gérants de locaux à l’égard desquels a été délivré un permis de vente d’alcool ou un permis de circonstance pour la vente d’alcool, ainsi qu’aux personnes qui y vendent ou y servent de l’alcool. À compter d’une date prescrite, cette formation serait un volet obligatoire du cours de formation des serveurs donné actuellement à ces personnes dans le cadre de la Loi.

Projet de loi 147                                                                                                                                 2017

Loi modifiant la Loi sur les permis d’alcool pour offrir une formation sur la violence et le harcèlement à caractère sexuel aux personnes travaillant dans des lieux où de l’alcool est vendu

Préambule

En 2015, le Comité spécial de la violence et du harcèlement à caractère sexuel de l’Ontario a recommandé que le programme de formation Smart Serve, offert aux personnes qui servent de l’alcool dans le cadre de leur profession, comprenne un volet de sensibilisation sur les agressions sexuelles et de formation à l’intervention.

Former les travailleurs de première ligne comme les barmans, barmaids, serveurs, serveuses et leurs gérants et gérantes afin qu’ils reconnaissent les signes précurseurs de harcèlement sexuel et d’agressions sexuelles et soient en mesure d’intervenir de façon appropriée favorisera la santé de toutes les Ontariennes et de tous les Ontariens et contribuera à réduire la violence à caractère sexuel dans la province.

Pour ces motifs, Sa Majesté, sur l’avis et avec le consentement de l’Assemblée législative de la province de l’Ontario, édicte :

1 La Loi sur les permis d’alcool est modifiée par adjonction de l’article suivant :

Formation obligatoire des serveurs

34.2  (1)  Le titulaire d’un permis ou d’un permis de circonstance délivré à l’égard d’un local veille à ce que chaque gérant ou personne qu’il emploie dans un poste lié à la vente ou au service de l’alcool détienne un certificat indiquant la réussite d’un cours de formation des serveurs approuvé par le conseil.

Formation : violence et harcèlement à caractère sexuel

(2)  À compter du jour prescrit, le cours de formation des serveurs mentionné au paragraphe (1) incorpore un volet sur la prévention de la violence et du harcèlement à caractère sexuel approuvé par le conseil.

Entrée en vigueur

2 La présente loi entre en vigueur le jour que le lieutenant-gouverneur fixe par proclamation.

Titre abrégé

3 Le titre abrégé de la présente loi est Loi de 2017 visant à favoriser des sorties sans danger.

Législature actuelle
Toutes les législatures