Bill 190, What You See is What You Pay Act (Consumer Protection Amendment), 2017

Baker, Yvan

Current Status: First Reading Carried

Viewing: Original (current version) pdf

What You See is What You Pay Act (Consumer Protection Amendment), 2017

EXPLANATORY NOTE

The Bill amends the Consumer Protection Act, 2002 by adding a new section 9.1 that requires all suppliers of goods or services to ensure that any information provided to a consumer regarding the cost of a good or service includes an all-inclusive cost. The all-inclusive cost is defined as the total of all amounts that a consumer will have to pay for the good or service including the harmonized sales tax and any other charges or fees. Suppliers will also be required to disclose the duration of a promotional discount on the price of goods or services. A new penalty scheme is created to deal with contraventions of the new section 9.1.

Bill 190                                                                                                                                     2017

An Act to amend the Consumer Protection Act, 2002 to require suppliers to disclose an all-inclusive cost

Her Majesty, by and with the advice and consent of the Legislative Assembly of the Province of Ontario, enacts as follows:

1 The Consumer Protection Act, 2002 is amended by adding the following section:

Supplier required to disclose all-inclusive cost

9.1 (1)  A supplier who offers, displays or advertises a good or service in the course of a consumer transaction shall ensure that any information provided to a consumer regarding the cost of the good or service includes an all-inclusive cost.

All-inclusive cost

(2)  For the purposes of subsection (1), all-inclusive cost is the total of all amounts to be paid by the consumer in consideration of the good or service including the price of the good or service, the harmonized sales tax and any other charges or fees.

Presentation of prices

(3)  A supplier who displays, advertises or otherwise presents the price of a good or service alongside the all-inclusive cost of the good or service within the meaning of subsection (2), shall ensure that the all-inclusive cost is displayed, advertised or presented using a font size that is equal to or larger than the font size used for the price of the good or service.

Promotional price

(4)  If the price of a good or service is reduced as a result of a promotional discount, the supplier shall ensure that the duration of the promotional discount is clearly communicated to the consumer using a font size that is not smaller than half of the size of the font used to offer, display or advertise the price of the good or service and its all-inclusive cost.

Exemption

(5)  The Minister may make regulations exempting any supplier, goods or services,  or any class of goods or services from the application of this section.

2 (1)  Subclause 116 (1) (b) (i) of the Act is repealed and the following substituted:

           (i)  in respect of Part II, Consumer Rights and Warranties, subsection 9.1 (1), (3) or (4), subsection 10 (1), section 12, subsections 13 (2) and (7) and subsections 13.1 (1) and (2),

(2)  Subsection 116 (5) of the Act is amended by adding “Subject to subsection (5.1),” at the beginning.

(3)  Section 116 of the Act is amended by adding the following subsections:

Notice of contravention

(5.1)  The Director may issue a notice of contravention to a supplier who fails to comply with subsection 9.1 (1), (3) or (4) specifying the particulars concerning the contravention and the supplier must comply with the requirements set out in the notice within 30 days.  

Penalties

(5.2)  A supplier who fails to comply with the requirements set out in the notice of contravention issued under subsection (5.1) within 30 days and who is convicted of an offence is liable to pay a fine determined as follows:

    1.  For a corporation that employs one to four employees or an individual, a fine of not more than $150 plus 100 per cent of the all-inclusive cost of the highest priced good or service that was not in compliance with subsection 9.1 (1), (3) or (4).

    2.  For a corporation that employs five to 100 employees, a fine of not more than $1500 plus 100 per cent of the all-inclusive cost of the highest priced good or service that was not in compliance with subsection 9.1 (1), (3) or (4).

    3.  For a corporation that employs 101 to 499 employees, a fine of not more than $10,000 plus 100 per cent of the all-inclusive cost of the highest priced good or service that was not in compliance with subsection 9.1 (1), (3) or (4).

    4.  For corporation that employs 500 or more employees, a fine of not more than $25,000 plus 100 per cent of the all-inclusive cost of the highest priced good or service that was not in compliance with subsection 9.1 (1), (3) or (4).

Review of offence

(5.3)  A supplier who has been convicted of an offense for contravening subsection 9.1 (1), (3) or (4) and fined in accordance with subsection (5.2) may make a written request to the Tribunal for a hearing to review the facts of the alleged contravention or the amount of the penalty within 30 days after receiving a notice of fine from the Director.

Fine stayed during hearing

(5.4)  If the supplier makes a request for a hearing in accordance with subsection (5.3), the Tribunal shall hold a hearing and the supplier is not required to pay the fine until the Tribunal makes a decision under subsection (5.5).

Powers of Tribunal

(5.5)  After holding the hearing, the Tribunal may,

  (a)  confirm the contravention and the fine;

  (b)  set aside the contravention and the fine; or

   (c)  confirm the contravention but impose a lower fine.

Factors to consider

(5.6)  In imposing a fine on a supplier that is convicted of an offence for contravening subsection 9.1 (1), (3) or (4), the Director and the Tribunal shall take into consideration,

  (a)  the business size and the ability of the supplier to pay the fine;

  (b)  whether or not the fine will serve as an effective deterrent against further failures to comply with the requirements of subsection 9.1 (1), (3) or (4);

   (c)  the degree to which the offered, displayed or advertised price misleads the consumer about the all-inclusive cost;

  (d)  the number of similar offences already committed by the supplier; and

  (e)  the value of the good or service underlying the offence.

Commencement

3 This Act comes into force one year after the day it receives Royal Assent.

Short title

4 The short title of this Act is the What You See is What You Pay Act (Consumer Protection Amendment), 2017.

Current Parliament
Past & Present

Projet de loi 190, Loi de 2017 sur l'affichage de prix toutes taxes comprises (modification de la Loi sur la protection du consommateur)

Baker, Yvan

État des travaux: Première lecture adopté

Affiché: Original (Version actuelle) pdf

Loi de 2017 sur l’affichage de prix toutes taxes comprises (modification de la Loi sur la protection du consommateur)

note explicative

Le projet de loi modifie la Loi de 2002 sur la protection du consommateur par l’ajout du nouvel article 9.1, qui exige que tous les fournisseurs de marchandises ou de services veillent à ce que les renseignements fournis au consommateur concernant le prix d’une marchandise ou d’un service mentionnent le prix global. Le prix global est défini comme le total de tous les montants que doit payer le consommateur pour la marchandise ou le service, y compris la taxe de vente harmonisée et tous les autres frais et droits. Les fournisseurs seront aussi tenus de divulguer la durée de toute réduction promotionnelle du prix de marchandises ou de services. Un nouveau régime de peines est instauré pour traiter des contraventions au nouvel article 9.1.

Projet de loi 190                                                                                                                    2017

Loi modifiant la Loi de 2002 sur la protection du consommateur pour exiger que les fournisseurs divulguent les prix globaux

Sa Majesté, sur l’avis et avec le consentement de l’Assemblée législative de la province de l’Ontario, édicte :

1 La Loi de 2002 sur la protection du consommateur est modifiée par adjonction de l’article suivant :

Obligation du fournisseur de divulguer le prix global

9.1 (1)  Le fournisseur qui offre ou affiche une marchandise ou un service ou en fait la publicité dans le cadre d’une opération de consommation veille à ce que les renseignements fournis au consommateur concernant le coût de la marchandise ou du service mentionnent le prix global.

Prix global

(2)  Pour l’application du paragraphe (1), le prix global correspond au total de tous les montants que doit payer le consommateur en contrepartie de la marchandise ou du service, y compris le prix de la marchandise ou du service, la taxe de vente harmonisée et tous les autres frais et droits.

Présentation de prix

(3)  Le fournisseur qui affiche le prix d’une marchandise ou d’un service, en fait la publicité ou le présente d’une autre façon, en sus de son prix global au sens du paragraphe (2), veille à ce que le prix global soit affiché, annoncé dans une publicité ou présenté au moyen d’une police dont la taille est identique ou plus grande que celle de la police utilisée pour indiquer le prix de la marchandise ou du service.

Prix promotionnel

(4)  Si le prix d’une marchandise ou d’un service est diminué en raison d’une réduction promotionnelle, le fournisseur veille à ce que la durée de cette réduction soit clairement communiquée au consommateur au moyen d’une taille de police qui n’est pas plus petite que la moitié de celle utilisée pour offrir ou afficher le prix de la marchandise ou du service et son prix global ou en faire la publicité.

Exemption

(5)  Le ministre peut, par règlement, soustraire des fournisseurs, des marchandises ou des services, ou une catégorie de marchandises ou de services, à l’application du présent article.

2 (1)  Le sous-alinéa 116 (1) b) (i) de la Loi est abrogé et remplacé par ce qui suit :

           (i)  à l’égard de la partie II (Droits et garanties accordés au consommateur), le paragraphe 9.1 (1), (3) ou (4), le paragraphe 10 (1), l’article 12, les paragraphes 13 (2) et (7), et les paragraphes 13.1 (1) et (2),

(2)  Le paragraphe 116 (5) de la Loi est modifié par insertion de «Sous réserve du paragraphe (5.1),» au début du paragraphe.

(3)  L’article 116 de la Loi est modifié par adjonction des paragraphes suivants :

Avis de contravention

(5.1)  Le directeur peut délivrer un avis de contravention au fournisseur qui n’observe pas le paragraphe 9.1 (1), (3) ou (4). L’avis précise les détails concernant la contravention et le fournisseur doit observer les exigences qui y sont énoncées dans les 30 jours.

Peines

(5.2)  Le fournisseur qui n’observe pas les exigences énoncées dans l’avis de contravention délivré en vertu du paragraphe (5.1) dans les 30 jours et qui est déclaré coupable d’une infraction est passible d’une amende calculée comme suit :

    1.  Dans le cas d’une personne morale qui emploie de un à quatre employés ou d’un particulier, une amende maximale de 150 $, majorée de la totalité du prix global de la marchandise ou du service le plus cher qui n’était pas conforme au paragraphe 9.1 (1), (3) ou (4).

    2.  Dans le cas d’une personne morale qui emploie de 5 à 100 employés, une amende maximale de 1 500 $, majorée de la totalité du prix global de la marchandise ou du service le plus cher qui n’était pas conforme au paragraphe 9.1 (1), (3) ou (4).

    3.  Dans le cas d’une personne morale qui emploie de 101 à 499 employés, une amende maximale de 10 000 $, majorée de la totalité du prix global de la marchandise ou du service le plus cher qui n’était pas conforme au paragraphe 9.1 (1), (3) ou (4).

    4.  Dans le cas d’une personne morale qui emploie 500 employés ou plus, une amende maximale de 25 000 $, majorée de la totalité du prix global de la marchandise ou du service le plus cher qui n’était pas conforme au paragraphe 9.1 (1), (3) ou (4).

Examen de l’infraction

(5.3)  Le fournisseur qui a été déclaré coupable d’une contravention au paragraphe 9.1 (1), (3) ou (4) et qui est tenu de payer une amende conformément au paragraphe (5.2) peut, par écrit et dans les 30 jours de la réception de l’avis d’amende délivré par le directeur, demander une audience devant le Tribunal en vue de l’examen des faits entourant la prétendue contravention ou du montant de la peine.

Suspension de l’amende pendant l’audience

(5.4)  Si le fournisseur demande une audience conformément au paragraphe (5.3), le Tribunal tient une audience et le fournisseur n’est pas tenu de payer l’amende tant que le Tribunal ne rend pas une décision en vertu du paragraphe (5.5).

Pouvoirs du Tribunal

(5.5)  Après avoir tenu l’audience, le Tribunal peut, selon le cas :

    a)  confirmer la contravention et l’amende;

    b)  annuler la contravention et l’amende;

    c)  confirmer la contravention, mais imposer une amende moins élevée.

Facteurs à prendre en considération

(5.6)  Lorsqu’ils imposent une amende au fournisseur déclaré coupable d’une infraction pour avoir contravenu au paragraphe 9.1 (1), (3) ou (4), le directeur et le Tribunal tiennent compte des facteurs suivants :

    a)  la taille de l’entreprise et la capacité du fournisseur de payer l’amende;

    b)  la question de savoir si l’amende constituera ou non une mesure dissuasive efficace contre toute autre inobservation des exigences du paragraphe 9.1 (1), (3) ou (4);

    c)  la mesure dans laquelle le prix offert, affiché ou annoncé dans une publicité a trompé le consommateur sur le prix global;

    d)  le nombre d’infractions similaires déjà commises par le fournisseur;

    e)  la valeur de la marchandise ou du service à la base de l’infraction.

Entrée en vigueur

3 La présente loi entre en vigueur un an après le jour où elle reçoit la sanction royale.

Titre abrégé

4 Le titre abrégé de la présente loi est Loi de 2017 sur l’affichage de prix toutes taxes comprises (modification de la Loi sur la protection du consommateur).

Législature actuelle
Toutes les législatures