Standing Committee on Regulations and Private Bills

Standing Committee on Regulations and Private Bills

Terms of Reference

Standing Order 108(i)

[The] Standing Committee on Regulations and Private Bills [is] to be the Committee to which all private bills, other than Estate bills or bills providing for the consolidation of a floating debt or renewal of debentures, other than local improvement debentures, of a municipal corporation, shall be referred after first reading; and, to be the Committee provided for by section 33 of Part III (Regulations) of the Legislation Act, 2006, and having the terms of reference as set out in that section, namely: to be the Committee to which all regulations stand permanently referred; and to examine the regulations with particular reference to the scope and method of the exercise of delegated legislative power without reference to the merits of the policy or objectives to be effected by the regulations or enabling statutes, but in so doing regard shall be had to the following guidelines:

(i)      Regulations should not contain provisions initiating new policy, but should be confined to details to give effect to the policy established by the statute;

(ii)     Regulations should be in strict accord with the statute conferring of power, particularly concerning personal liberties;

(iii)    Regulations should be expressed in precise and unambiguous language;

(iv)    Regulations should not have retrospective effect unless clearly authorized by statute;

(v)     Regulations should not exclude the jurisdiction of the courts;

(vi)    Regulations should not impose a fine, imprisonment or other penalty;

(vii)   Regulations should not shift the onus of proof of innocence to a person accused of an offence;

(viii)  Regulations should not impose anything in the way of a tax (as distinct from fixing the amount of a licence fee, or the like); and

(ix)    General powers should not be used to establish a judicial tribunal or an administrative tribunal,

and the Committee shall from time to time report to the House its observations, opinions and recommendations as required by section 33 of Part III (Regulations) of the Legislation Act, 2006, but before drawing the attention of the House to a regulation or other statutory instrument, the Committee shall afford the ministry or agency concerned an opportunity to furnish orally or in writing to the Committee such explanation as the ministry or agency thinks fit.

 

The procedures that the Committee follows, with respect to Private Bills, are set out in Standing Orders 82 through 97:

82.   (a) Any person, group or corporation may make an application for a private bill by filing with the Clerk of the House,

(i)         a copy of the bill;

(ii)        a fee of $150; and

(iii)       a declaration proving publication of the notices referred to in clause (e).

 (b)  Every applicant for a private bill shall pay,

(i)         the cost of printing the bill at all of its stages, including reprinting if it is |amended; and

(ii)        the cost of printing the Act in the annual statutes.

 (c)  Where, at the request of the applicant, a Standing Order is suspended with reference to a private bill, a charge of $50 shall be levied.

 (d)  Where a private bill relates to a charitable organization within the meaning of the Income Tax Act (Canada), the Standing Committee on Regulations and Private Bills may recommend that the fee paid under clause (a) be remitted and, if the recommendation is approved by the House, the remitted fee shall be applied to reduce any costs payable under clause (b) and the Committee may, having regard to the circumstances, recommend that all or part of the costs payable under clause (b) be waived and, if the recommendation is approved by the House, the costs shall be waived.

 (e)  Notice of an application for a private bill shall be given before it is read a first time by publishing the notice once a week for at least four weeks in each of The Ontario Gazette and one newspaper circulated in the municipality most affected and the notice shall,

(i)         be signed by or on behalf of the applicant;

(ii)        clearly state the nature and object of the application;

(iii)       when the application refers to any proposed work, indicate generally the
            location of the work;

(iv)       where the application is by a municipal corporation for authority to issue debentures, set out the particulars of the existing debenture debt and the
amount of the rateable property of the municipality according to the last revised assessment roll of the corporation and in brief and general terms, the object for which the new issue of debentures is required; and

(v)        state that any person who has an interest in the application and who wishes to make submissions for or against the application when it is considered by the Standing Committee on Regulations and Private Bills should notify the Clerk of the House in writing.

 (f)  Notice of an application for a private bill is valid for the calendar year in which the last notice is published and until the first day of July in the next following calendar year.

 (g)  Where,

(i)         an application for a private bill is made during a Session but the bill is not read a first time; or

(ii)        a private bill is read a first time but is not considered by the Standing Committee on Regulations and Private Bills before dissolution or prorogation,

the application shall be considered during the next regular Session of the House without publishing further notice of the application and without payment of additional fees under clause (a).

83.   The Clerk of the House shall refer to the Standing Committee on the Legislative Assembly any application that, in his or her opinion, does not comply with the Standing Orders.

84.   When any private bill confirming any letters patent or agreement is presented to the House, a copy of the letters patent or agreement shall be included in the bill.

85.   No private bill relating to the status of a corporation shall be considered by the Standing Committee on Regulations and Private Bills until there has been deposited with the Clerk of the House a certificate of the Minister of Finance showing that all taxes payable under the Corporations Tax Act in respect of the corporation have been paid.

86.   (a) Every private bill when read a first time shall, unless it is an Estate bill or a bill providing for a consolidation of a floating debt or for the consolidation or renewal of debentures, other than local improvement debentures, of a municipal corporation, stand referred to the Standing Committee on Regulations and Private Bills and all petitions and correspondence to the House for or against the bill stand referred to the Committee.

 (b)  No private bill shall be given first reading unless a compendium of background information has been deposited with the Clerk of the House by the applicant.

 (c)  The compendium required under clause (b) shall cite the precedents, if any, used in drafting the private bill and shall contain an up-to-date consolidation of existing legislation that is amended by the bill.

 (d)  The Standing Committee on Regulations and Private Bills may adopt guidelines related to the form and content of the compendium required by clause (b).

 (e)  Where the purpose of a private bill application is to amend a section of an existing Private Act or the private bill would have the effect of amending a section of an existing Private Act, the private bill shall re-enact the section in its entirety.

87.   (a) Every private bill or part of a bill of a municipal corporation providing for the consolidation of a floating debt, or the consolidation or renewal of debentures, other than local improvement debentures, stands referred to the Ontario Municipal Board after first reading.

 (b)  The Board, after due enquiry, shall report to the House whether or not it is reasonable that the bill, or that part thereof relating to the matters referred to in clause (a), should pass and what, if any, alterations are necessary.

 (c)  A report of the Ontario Municipal Board shall be transmitted to the Clerk of the House.

 (d)  The bill and report shall stand referred to the Standing Committee on Regulations and Private Bills.

88.   (a) Every Estate bill or part of a bill that contains an Estate bill provision stands referred to the Commissioners of Estate Bills after first reading.

 (b)  The Commissioners of Estate Bills, or any two of them, shall report their opinion on the bill or the part thereof that has been submitted to them, and whether, presuming the allegations contained in the preamble to be proven to the satisfaction of the House, it is reasonable for the bill or the part thereof to pass and what, if any, alterations are necessary.

 (c)  A report of the Commissioners of Estate Bills shall be transmitted to the Clerk of the House.

 (d)  Where the Commissioners of Estate Bills report that, in their opinion, it is not reasonable that the bill or the part thereof submitted to them pass into law, the bill or the part thereof shall not be further considered.

 (e)  Where the bill or the part thereof submitted to the Commissioners of Estate Bills is reported favourably by the Commissioners, the bill and the report shall stand referred to the Standing Committee on Regulations and Private Bills and where only part of a bill is submitted to the Commissioners and the Commissioners report that, in their opinion, it is not reasonable that the part pass into law, the bill shall stand referred to the Standing Committee on Regulations and Private Bills and the Committee shall amend the bill by deleting therefrom the part to which the report relates.

89.   The Clerk of the House shall post on all notice boards five calendar days' notice of the date on which any private bill is to be considered by the Standing Committee on Regulations and Private Bills and the notice shall be published in the Orders and Notices Paper.

90.   Any person whose interest or property may be affected by a private bill, when required, shall appear before the Standing Committee on Regulations and Private Bills to express his or her consent or objection, or may consent in writing, proof of which may be demanded by the Committee.

91.   Private bills when reported by the Standing Committee on Regulations and Private Bills shall be placed on the Orders and Notices Paper for second reading.

92.   Private bills amended by a Committee may be reprinted before further consideration, as the Clerk of the House may direct.

93.   Private bills, after second reading, shall be ordered for third reading, unless specially ordered referred to the Committee of the Whole House.

94.   Except when waived by unanimous consent of the House, notice is required for a motion to dispense with any Standing Order relating to private bills.

95.   A Private Bill Register shall be kept in the office of the Clerk of the House, in which shall be entered the name, description, and place of residence of the parties applying for the bill, or of their agent, and all the proceedings thereon, such Register to be open to public inspection daily, during office hours.

96.   (a) Every parliamentary agent conducting proceedings before the House is personally responsible to the House and to the Speaker for the observance of the Standing Orders and practices of Parliament, and also for the payment of all fees and charges.

 (b)  Any parliamentary agent who wilfully acts in violation of the Standing Orders and practices of Parliament, or who wilfully misconducts himself or herself in prosecuting any proceedings before the House, is liable to an absolute or temporary prohibition to practise as a parliamentary agent, at the pleasure of the Speaker.

97.   The Clerk of the House shall publish weekly in The Ontario Gazette the following notice:

APPLICATIONS TO PARLIAMENT
PRIVATE BILLS
PUBLIC NOTICE

The rules of procedure and the fees and costs related to applications for private bills are set out in the Standing Orders of the Legislative Assembly. Copies of the Standing Orders, and the guide "Procedures for Applying for Private Legislation", may be obtained from the Legislative Assembly's Internet site at http://www.ontla.on.ca or from:

Procedural Services Branch
Room 1405, Whitney Block
Queen's Park
Toronto, Ontario
M7A 1A2

Telephone: 416/325-3500
(Collect calls will be accepted.)

Applicants should note that consideration of applications for private bills that are received after the first day of September in any calendar year may be postponed until the first regular Session in the next following calendar year.

 

Committee Documents

Comité permanent des règlements et des projets de loi d'intérêt privé

Comité permanent des règlements et des projets de loi d'intérêt privé

Mandat

Alinéa 108(i) du Réglement

Le Comité permanent des règlements et des projets de loi d'intérêt privé [est le comité] auquel tous les projets de loi d'intérêt privé sont renvoyés après la première lecture, sauf s'ils ont trait à une succession ou s'ils prévoient la consolidation d'une dette flottante ou le renouvellement de débentures d'une municipalité, autres que des débentures d'aménagement local. Ce comité est également celui que prévoit l'article 33 de la partie III (Règlements) de la Loi de 2006 sur la législation, ayant à ce titre les attributions énoncées dans cet article, à savoir : d'une part, être le comité devant lequel il y a renvoi permanent des règlements; d'autre part, examiner les règlements, notamment quant au champ et au mode d'exercice du pouvoir de législation délégué, sans tenir compte du bien-fondé de la politique ou des objectifs visés par les règlements ou les lois habilitantes, mais en tenant compte des directives suivantes :

(i)      les règlements ne doivent pas contenir de dispositions donnant naissance à une nouvelle politique, mais sont restreints à des détails de mise en oeuvre de la politique établie par la loi;

(ii)         les règlements doivent être strictement conformes à la loi habilitante, en particulier en ce qui a trait à la liberté des personnes;

(iii)    les règlements doivent être rédigés en langage clair et précis;

(iv)        les règlements n'ont aucun effet rétroactif, sauf autorisation expresse de la loi;

(v)          les règlements ne doivent pas exclure la compétence des tribunaux;

(vi)        les règlements ne doivent pas imposer de pénalité, de peine d'emprisonnement ou d'autres sanctions;

(vii)      les règlements ne doivent pas faire passer sur la personne accusée d'une infraction le fardeau de la preuve de son innocence;

(viii)    les règlements ne doivent pas imposer d'impôt (en dehors de fixer le montant des droits payables pour un permis, par exemple);

(ix)        ces attributions générales ne doivent pas être utilisées pour établir un tribunal judiciaire ou administratif.

Par ailleurs, le Comité présente à l'Assemblée, à l'occasion, un rapport faisant état de ses observations, de ses opinions et de ses recommandations, comme l'exige l'article 33 de la partie III (Règlements) de la Loi de 2006 sur la législation; toutefois, avant de porter un règlement ou autre texte réglementaire à l'attention de l'Assemblée, le comité donne au ministre ou à l'organisme concernés l'occasion de lui fournir, oralement ou par écrit, les explications qu'ils jugent nécessaires.

Les procédures suivies par le Comité, relatives aux projets de loi d’intérêt privé, sont établies dans les articles 82 à 97 du Règlement :

82.   a) Toute personne morale ou physique ou groupe peut faire une demande de projets de loi d'intérêt privé en déposant ce qui suit auprès du greffier de l'Assemblée législative :

(i)         un exemplaire du projet de loi;

(ii)        des droits de 150  $;

(iii)       une déclaration attestant la publication des avis mentionnés à l'alinéa e).

b)  Tout auteur d'une demande de projet de loi d'intérêt privé acquitte :

(i)         les frais d'impression du projet de loi à tous ses stades y compris une nouvelle impression en cas de modification du texte original;

(ii)        les frais d'impression de la loi dans le recueil annuel des lois.

c)  Si, à la demande de l'auteur de la demande un article du Règlement est suspendu relativement à un projet de loi d'intérêt privé, des frais de 50  $ sont prélevés.

d)  Si un projet de loi d'intérêt privé a trait à un organisme de charité au sens de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu (Canada), le Comité permanent des règlements et des projets de loi d'intérêt privé peut recommander de faire remise des droits acquittés en vertu de l'alinéa a) et, si l'Assemblée législative approuve la recommandation, les droits remis sont imputés à la réduction des frais payables en vertu de l'alinéa b). Le Comité peut, compte tenu des circonstances, recommander l'exonération complète ou partielle des frais payables en vertu de l'alinéa b) et, si l'Assemblée législative approuve la recommandation, cette exonération est accordée.

e)  Avis d'une demande de projet de loi d'intérêt privé est donné avant la première lecture du projet de loi, au moyen de la publication d'un avis une fois par semaine pendant au moins quatre semaines dans La Gazette de l'Ontario et dans un journal distribué dans la municipalité la plus touchée. L'avis doit :

(i)         être signé par l'auteur de la demande ou en son nom;

(ii)        indiquer clairement la nature et l'objet de la demande;

(iii)       si la demande concerne des projets de travaux, indiquer de façon générale l'emplacement des travaux;

(iv)       si la demande est faite par une municipalité qui demande l'autorisation d'émettre des débentures, indiquer les détails de la dette actuelle en débentures et le montant des biens imposables de la municipalité conformément au dernier rôle d'évaluation révisé de la municipalité et préciser en  termes brefs et généraux, ce qui justifie la nouvelle émission de débentures;

(v)        préciser que toute personne touchée par la demande, qui désire présenter un mémoire favorable ou non à la demande quand elle sera étudiée par le Comité permanent des règlements et des projets de loi d'intérêt privé, doit en informer par écrit le greffier de l'Assemblée législative.

f)  L'avis de demande d'un projet de loi d'intérêt privé est valide pendant l'année civile au cours de laquelle le dernier avis est publié et jusqu'au 1er juillet de l'année civile suivante.

g)  Si, selon le cas :

(i)         la demande d'un projet de loi d'intérêt privé est faite durant une session mais que le projet de loi ne franchit pas l'étape de la première lecture;

(ii)        le projet de loi d'intérêt privé franchit l'étape de la première lecture, mais n'est pas étudié par le Comité permanent des règlements et des projets de loi d'intérêt privé avant la dissolution ou la prorogation,

la demande est étudiée au cours de la session ordinaire suivante de l'Assemblée législative sans qu'il soit nécessaire de publier un nouvel avis de demande et sans acquittement de droits supplémentaires au titre de l'alinéa a).

83.   Le greffier de l'Assemblée législative renvoie au Comité permanent de l'Assemblée législative toute demande qui, à son avis, n'est pas conforme au Règlement.

84.   Quand un projet de loi d'intérêt privé confirmant des lettres patentes ou une entente est déposé à l'Assemblée législative, une copie des lettres patentes ou de l'entente doit faire partie du projet de loi.

85.   Le Comité permanent des règlements et des projets de loi d'intérêt privé n'étudie pas un projet de loi d'intérêt privé ayant trait au statut d'une personne morale tant que n'a pas été déposé auprès du greffier de l'Assemblée législative un certificat du ministre des Finances indiquant que la totalité des impôts exigibles en vertu de la Loi sur l'imposition des sociétés relativement à la personne morale a été acquittée.

86.   a) Tout projet de loi d'intérêt privé qui franchit l'étape de la première lecture, sauf s'il s'agit d'un projet de loi ayant trait à une succession ou d'un projet de loi prévoyant la consolidation d'une dette flottante ou la consolidation ou le renouvellement de débentures d'une municipalité, autres que des débentures d'aménagement local, est envoyé au Comité permanent des règlements et des projets de loi d'intérêt privé et toutes les pétitions et la correspondance adressées à l'Assemblée législative favorables ou non au projet de loi sont envoyées au Comité.

b)  Aucun projet de loi d'intérêt privé ne franchit l'étape de la première lecture si l'auteur de la demande n'a pas déposé un dossier de présentation auprès du greffier de l'Assemblée législative.

c)  Le dossier exigé en vertu de l'alinéa b) donne, le cas échéant, les précédents utilisés pour la rédaction du projet de loi d'intérêt privé et contient les codifications à jour des lois en vigueur qui sont modifiées par le projet de loi.

d)  Le Comité permanent des règlements et des projets de loi d'intérêt privé peut adopter des lignes directrices en rapport avec la forme et le fond du dossier exigé par l'alinéa b).

e)  Si la demande de projet de loi d'intérêt privé a pour but, ou si le projet de loi d'intérêt privé a pour effet, de modifier un article d'une loi d'intérêt privé en vigueur, le projet de loi d'intérêt privé porte une nouvelle adoption de l'article dans sa totalité.

87.   a) Tout projet de loi d'intérêt privé ou partie d'un projet de loi d'une municipalité prévoyant la consolidation d'une dette flottante ou la consolidation ou le renouvellement de débentures (autres que des débentures d'aménagement local) est renvoyé à la Commission des affaires municipales de l'Ontario après la première lecture.

b)  La Commission, après s'être dûment informée, déclare dans un rapport fait à l'Assemblée législative, s'il est raisonnable ou non d'adopter le projet de loi ou la partie du projet de loi ayant trait aux questions mentionnées à l'alinéa a) et quelles modifications, s'il y a lieu, sont nécessaires.

c)  Le rapport de la Commission des affaires municipales de l'Ontario est remis au greffier de l'Assemblée législative.

d)  Le projet de loi et le rapport sont renvoyés au Comité permanent des règlements et des projets de loi d'intérêt privé.

88.   a) Tout projet de loi ayant trait à une succession ou toute partie d'un projet de loi qui contient une disposition ayant trait à une succession est renvoyé aux commissaires aux projets de loi ayant trait à une succession après la première lecture.

b)  Les commissaires aux projets de loi ayant trait à une succession, ou deux d'entre eux, font connaître leur avis sur le projet de loi ou la partie du projet de loi qui leur a été présenté et déclarent dans leur rapport, à condition que les allégations contenues dans le préambule soient prouvées à la satisfaction de l'Assemblée législative, s'il est raisonnable d'adopter le projet de loi ou la partie du projet de loi et quelles modifications sont nécessaires, le cas échéant.

c)  Le rapport des commissaires aux projets de loi ayant trait à une succession est remis au greffier de l'Assemblée législative.

d)  Si les commissaires aux projets de loi ayant trait à une succession déclarent qu'à leur avis, il n'est pas raisonnable d'adopter le projet de loi ou la partie qui leur a été présentée, le projet de loi ou la partie en cause n'est plus étudié.

e)  Si les commissaires donnent un compte rendu favorable du projet de loi ou de la partie du projet de loi qui leur a été présenté, le projet de loi et le rapport sont renvoyés au Comité permanent des règlements et des projets de loi d'intérêt privé. Si seulement une partie du projet de loi est présentée aux commissaires et que ceux-ci déclarent qu'à leur avis, il n'est pas raisonnable d'adopter le projet de loi, celui-ci est renvoyé au Comité permanent des règlements et des projets de loi d'intérêt privé qui modifie le projet de loi en éliminant la partie visée par le rapport.

89.   Le greffier de l'Assemblée législative affiche sur tous les tableaux d'affichage un préavis de cinq jours civils donnant la date à laquelle le Comité permanent des règlements et des projets de loi d'intérêt privé doit étudier tout projet de loi d'intérêt privé. L'avis est publié au Feuilleton et Avis.

90.   Toute personne dont l'intérêt ou les biens peuvent être touchés par un projet de loi d'intérêt privé se présente, lorsqu'elle en est priée, devant le Comité permanent des règlements et des projets de loi d'intérêt privé pour exprimer son consentement ou sa réserve ou encore peut donner par écrit son consentement dont le comité peut demander la preuve.

91.   Lorsque le Comité permanent des règlements et des projets de loi d'intérêt privé produit un rapport sur les projets de loi d'intérêt privé, ceux-ci sont inscrits au Feuilleton et Avis pour la deuxième lecture.

92.   Les projets de loi d'intérêt privé modifiés par un comité peuvent être imprimés de nouveau avant une nouvelle étude, selon les directives du greffier de l'Assemblée législative.

93.   Après la deuxième lecture, les projets de loi d'intérêt privé sont renvoyés à l'Assemblée pour la troisième lecture, à moins que par décision spéciale, ils ne soient renvoyés au comité plénier de l'Assemblée législative.

94.   Sauf exemption accordée à l'unanimité par l'Assemblée législative, un avis est nécessaire pour obtenir une motion de dispense de tout article du Règlement en rapport avec les projets de loi d'intérêt privé.

95.   Le bureau du greffier de l'Assemblée législative tient un Registre des projets de loi d'intérêt privé dans lequel sont inscrit le nom, la description et le lieu de résidence des parties demandant le projet de loi, ou de leur agent, et tous les actes de procédure auxquels le projet de loi a donné lieu. Ce Registre est accessible au public tous les jours, aux heures de bureau.

96.   a) Tout agent parlementaire qui se charge des modalités d'examen d'un projet de loi d'intérêt privé par l'Assemblée législative est personnellement responsable devant l'Assemblée et devant son président de l'observation du Règlement et des pratiques de la Législature, ainsi que du paiement de tous les droits et frais.

b)  Tout agent parlementaire qui enfreint délibérément le Règlement et les pratiques de la Législature ou qui manifeste une inconduite volontaire dans le cadre des modalités d'examen d'un projet de loi d'intérêt privé par l'Assemblée législative, s'expose à une interdiction absolue ou temporaire, au gré du président, d'agir en qualité d'agent parlementaire.

97.   Une fois par semaine, le greffier de l'Assemblée législative fait paraître l'avis suivant dans La Gazette de l'Ontario :

DEMANDES PRÉSENTÉES À LA LÉGISLATURE
PROJETS DE LOI D'INTÉRÊT PRIVÉ
AVIS AU PUBLIC

Les règles de procédure et les droits applicables aux demandes de projets de loi d'intérêt privé figurent au Règlement de l'Assemblée législative. On peut se procurer des exemplaires du Règlement, ainsi que du guide intitulé «Procédure de dépôt d'un projet de loi d'intérêt privé», par le biais du site Internet de l'Assemblée législative http://www.ontla.on.ca ou à l'adresse suivante :

Direction des services de la procédure
Bureau 1405, Édifice Whitney
Queen's Park
Toronto (Ontario)
M7A 1A2

Téléphone : (416) 325-3500
(Les appels à frais virés sont acceptés.)

L'examen des demandes de projets de loi d'intérêt privé reçues après le 1er septembre peut être remis jusqu'à la première session ordinaire de l'année civile suivante.

 

 

Documents des comités