Standing Committee on Government Agencies

Standing Committee on Government Agencies

 

Terms of Reference

 

The procedures that form the Terms of reference for the Standing Committee on Government Agencies are set out in Standing Order 108(f):

 

[The] Standing Committee on Government Agencies which is empowered to review and report to the House its observations, opinions and recommendations on the operation of all agencies, boards and commissions to which the Lieutenant Governor in Council makes some or all of the appointments, and all corporations to which the Crown in right of Ontario is a majority shareholder, such reviews to be made with a view to reducing possible redundancy and overlapping, improving the accountability of agencies, rationalizing the functions of the agencies, identifying those agencies or parts of agencies which could be subject to sunset provisions, and revising the mandates and roles of agencies, and to review the intended appointments of persons to agencies, boards and commissions and of directors to corporations in which the Crown in right of Ontario is a majority shareholder (excluding re-appointments and appointments for a term of one year or less) according to the following procedures:

 

1. A minister of the Crown shall lay on the Table a certificate stating that the Lieutenant Governor in Council intends to appoint a person to an agency, board or commission or to the board of directors of a corporation, together with a copy of the position description and a summary of the person's qualifications, which documents shall be deemed to be referred to the Committee.

 

2. Upon receipt of a certificate as referred to in paragraph 1, the Clerk of the Committee shall distribute to each member of the Sub-committee on Committee Business a list of intended appointees in respect of whom a certificate has been received.

 

3. The Sub-committee shall meet at its own initiative, at the request of the Committee, or at the request of any member of the Sub-committee, to select from among the intended appointees referred to in paragraph 1, those intended appointees the Committee will review. Each member of the Sub-committee, other than the Chair, may choose one or more of the intended appointees for review from the certificates provided by the Clerk of the Committee.

 

4. The Sub-committee shall report to the Committee on the intended appointees for review. Upon receiving the report, the Committee shall determine a date for the review of the intended appointees as selected by the members of the Sub-committee. The report shall specify the amount of time allocated for the consideration of each intended appointee and the date on which each will be reviewed. An equal amount of time shall be allocated for review of each member's selections, and where a member of the Sub-committee has selected more than one intended appointee the time available to review that member's selections shall be allocated among his or her selections.

 

5. Upon notice from the Clerk of the Committee that an intended appointee has been selected for review, the minister shall ensure that the Committee receives a copy of the intended appointee's resume or biographical information and a description of the responsibilities of the position.

 

6. A Sub-committee member may choose to defer the consideration of one or more of the intended appointees that the member has chosen until a future meeting of the Committee at which intended appointees are to be reviewed so long as the consideration of the intended appointee has not previously been deferred.

 

7. In reviewing an intended appointee, the Committee shall not call as a witness any person other than the intended appointee.

 

8. At the conclusion of the meeting held to review an intended appointment, the Committee shall determine whether or not it concurs in the intended appointment. Any member may request that the Committee defer its determination to the next meeting of the Committee, but in any event no later than seven calendar days. In its report, the Committee shall state whether or not it concurs in the intended appointments and may state its reasons.

 

9. Whether or not the House stands adjourned, the Committee shall release its report by depositing it the same day with the Clerk of the House and upon receipt of the report by the Clerk the report shall be deemed to be adopted by the House.

 

10. A report that the Committee will not review an intended appointee shall be deemed to have been made by the Committee and adopted by the House in any of the following cases:

 

a) a report respecting the intended appointee has not been made by the Committee within 30 calendar days following the day on which the minister tables the certificate referred to in paragraph 1,

 

b) the Sub-committee does not at its first meeting following the day on which the minister tables the certificate select the intended appointee for review, or

 

c) the intended appointee has not been selected for review by the Sub-committee within 14 days following the day on which the minister tabled the certificate.

 

11. The Committee by unanimous agreement may extend any of the deadlines in paragraph 10.

 

12. The Clerk of the Committee shall give the minister who tabled the certificate written notification of any decision respecting the appointment made by the Committee or the Sub-committee on Committee Business.

 

13. During any adjournment of the House that exceeds one week, the Committee shall meet on such day or days as may be determined by the Sub-committee, but in any event not more than three times per month.

 

Committee Documents

Comité permanent des organismes gouvernementaux

Comité permanent des organismes gouvernementaux

 

Mandat

 

Les procédures qui forment le mandat du Comité permanent des organismes gouvernementaux sont établies par l'alinéa f) de l'article 108 du Règlement:

 

Le Comité permanent des organismes gouvernementaux, qui est autorisé à étudier le fonctionnement des organismes, conseils et commissions dont le lieutenant-gouverneur en conseil nomme tout ou partie des membres, ainsi que des personnes morales dont la Couronne du chef de l'Ontario est le principal actionnaire, en vue de réduire les redondances et recoupements éventuels, de rendre les organismes plus responsables et de rationaliser leurs fonctions, d'identifier les organismes ou parties d'organismes qui pourraient faire l'objet de dispositions de temporarisation et de réviser les mandats et rôles de ces organismes, à faire rapport de ses observations, opinions et recommandations à l'Assemblée législative et, enfin, à étudier les propositions de nomination à de tels organismes, conseils et commissions, ainsi qu'aux conseils d'administration de telles personnes morales (à l'exclusion des mandats, notamment des mandats renouvelables, d'une durée maximale d'un an), selon les modalités suivantes :

 

1. Un ministre de la Couronne dépose sur la table un certificat indiquant que le lieutenant-gouverneur en conseil a l'intention de nommer une personne à un organisme, à un conseil ou à une commission, ou encore au conseil d'administration d'une personne morale, accompagné d'une copie de la description de fonctions et d'un résumé des titres et qualités de la personne en question, documents qui sont réputés renvoyés au comité.

 

2. Lorsqu'il reçoit le certificat visé à la disposition 1, le greffier du comité distribue à chaque membre du sous-comité des travaux du comité une liste des propositions de nomination à l'égard desquelles un certificat a été reçu.

 

3. Le sous-comité se réunit de sa propre initiative ou à la demande du comité ou d'un membre du sous-comité pour retenir parmi les propositions de nomination visées à la disposition 1 celles qui seront étudiées par le comité. Chaque membre du sous-comité, à l'exception du président, peut choisir, parmi les certificats fournis par le greffier du comité, une ou plusieurs propositions pour étude.

 

4. Le sous-comité présente au comité un rapport sur les propositions retenues pour étude. Lorsqu'il reçoit le rapport, le comité fixe une date pour l'étude des propositions. Le rapport précise combien de temps sera réservé à l'étude de chacune d'elles et la date à laquelle elle sera étudiée. Une période égale est réservée à l'étude des propositions de nomination retenues par chaque membre et, lorsqu'un membre du sous-comité en a choisi plus d'une, le temps réservé à l'étude de celles qu'il a retenues est réparti entre elles.

 

5. Lorsque le greffier du comité l'avise qu'une proposition de nomination a été retenue pour étude, le ministre veille à ce que le comité reçoive une copie du curriculum vitae de la personne dont la nomination est proposée ou des renseignements biographiques la concernant et une description de fonctions du poste.

 

6. Un membre d'un sous-comité peut, mais une fois seulement, choisir de reporter jusqu'à une autre réunion du comité à laquelle des propositions de nomination seront étudiées l'étude d'une ou de plusieurs propositions qu'il a retenues.

 

7. Lorsqu'il étudie une proposition de nomination, le comité n'invite aucune autre personne à comparaître que celle dont la nomination est à l'étude.

 

8. À la fin de la réunion qu'il tient pour étudier une proposition de nomination, le comité décide s'il y est favorable ou non. Tout membre peut demander au comité de reporter sa décision jusqu'à la prochaine réunion du comité si celle-ci a lieu dans les sept jours civils suivants. Dans son rapport, le comité indique s'il est favorable ou non aux nominations proposées et il peut donner les motifs de ses décisions.

 

9. Que l'Assemblée soit ajournée ou non, le comité rend son rapport public en le déposant le même jour auprès du greffier de l'Assemblée ; dès que le greffier le reçoit, le rapport est réputé adopté par l'Assemblée.

 

10. Un rapport selon lequel le comité n'étudiera pas une proposition de nomination est réputé avoir été présenté par le comité et adopté par l'Assemblée dans les cas suivants:

 

a) aucun rapport au sujet de la proposition de nomination n'a été fait par le comité dans les 30 jours civils qui suivent le jour où le ministre dépose le certificat visé à la disposition 1,

 

b) le sous-comité ne retient pas la proposition de nomination pour étude lors de sa première réunion qui suit le jour où le ministre dépose le certificat,

 

c) la proposition de nomination n'a pas été retenue pour étude par le sous-comité dans les 14 jours qui suivent le jour où le ministre a déposé le certificat.

 

11. Le comité peut, du consentement unanime, prolonger tout délai prévu à la disposition 10.

 

12. Le greffier du comité avise par écrit le ministre qui a déposé le certificat de toute décision éventuelle prise par le comité ou le sous-comité des travaux du comité à l'égard de la nomination.

 

13. Lorsque l'Assemblée est ajournée pendant plus d'une semaine, le comité se réunit le ou les jours que fixe le sous-comité, mais en aucun cas plus de trois fois par mois.

Documents des comités