Standing Committee on Estimates

Standing Committee on Estimates

 

Terms of Reference

 

While the Standing Committee on Estimates' terms of reference are contained in Standing Order 108 (d), the procedures that the Committee follows are set out in Standing Orders 59 through 66:

59.  When a Budget has been presented, the main Estimates shall be tabled in the House no more than 12 Sessional days later. During those 12 days the Budget debate shall be completed. If no Budget has been presented by the first Sessional day following Victoria Day, the main Estimates shall be tabled at the next available Sessional day. Upon tabling, the Estimates shall be deemed to be referred to the Standing Committee on Estimates.

60.       (a) The Standing Committee on Estimates shall consider the Estimates of not fewer than six and not more than 12 ministries and offices.

(b)       (i) The Estimates of the ministries and offices to be considered by the Committee shall be selected in two rounds by members of the Committee such that in each round the members of the Party forming the Official Opposition shall choose first, the members of a recognized Party having the third largest membership in the House shall choose second and the members of the Party forming the government shall choose third.

(ii)  In each round, the members of each Party may choose the Estimates of one or two ministries or offices to be considered.

(c)  The Estimates of the ministries and offices shall be considered in the order in which they were selected as provided in clause (b).

(d)  The time for the consideration of the Estimates of each ministry or office shall be determined by the members of the Committee who selected such Estimates for consideration. If the members of a recognized Party choose the Estimates of one ministry or office in a round, not more than 15 hours shall be allocated to the consideration of the Estimates of that ministry or office, and if the members of a recognized Party choose two ministries or offices in a round, not more than 15 hours shall be allocated to the consideration of the Estimates of both.

(e)  No Estimates shall be considered in the Committee while any matter, including a procedural motion, relating to the same policy field is being considered in the House.

61.       (a) All other Estimates not selected for consideration by the Standing Committee on Estimates shall be deemed to be passed by the Committee and shall be reported back to the House.

(b)  The report of the Committee shall be deemed to be received and the Estimates for the ministries and offices named in the report shall be deemed to be concurred in.

62.       (a) All Supplementary Estimates shall be deemed to be referred to the Standing Committee on Estimates as they are presented to the House.

(b)  The Committee shall consider the Supplementary Estimates of the ministries and offices selected within the time allocated pursuant to Standing Order 60 for the consideration of the main Estimates.

(c)  All other Supplementary Estimates shall be reported back to the House. The report of the Committee shall be deemed to be received and the Supplementary Estimates for the ministries and offices named in the report shall be deemed to be concurred in.

63.       (a) The Standing Committee on Estimates shall present one report with respect to all of the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates considered pursuant to Standing Orders 60 and 62 no later than the third Thursday in November of each calendar year.

(b)  In the event the Committee fails to report the said Estimates on the date provided for in clause (a), the Estimates and Supplementary Estimates shall be deemed to be passed by the Committee and shall be deemed to be reported to and received by the House.

(c)  In the event that any Supplementary Estimates are not presented to the House until the third Thursday in November, or thereafter, then those Supplementary Estimates shall be deemed to be referred to the Standing Committee on Estimates as they are presented to the House, shall be deemed to be passed by the Committee and shall be deemed to be reported to and received by the House.

(d)  There shall be an Order for Concurrence placed on the Orders and Notices Paper for each of the Estimates reported from the Committee. There shall be two hours, apportioned equally among the recognized Parties, allotted to the debate on the Orders for Concurrence, at the end of which time the Speaker shall without further debate put every question necessary to dispose of the Order for Concurrence in Supply for each of the ministries and offices named in the Committee's report. No amendment to any question may be moved. If a recorded vote is requested by five members, all divisions shall be stacked, and there shall be a single 10 minute division bell.

64.  Adoption of Orders for Concurrence shall constitute an Order to bring in a Supply Bill founded on the resolutions contained therein, and founded on the resolutions contained in the deemed Concurrences made pursuant to Standing Orders 61 and 62. Two hours, apportioned equally among the recognized Parties, shall be allotted to the debate on the second reading stage of the Supply Bill, at the end of which time the Speaker shall without further debate or amendment put all questions necessary to dispose of this stage of the Bill. A Supply Bill given second reading shall be ordered for third reading, and the Order for third reading shall then immediately be called and the Speaker shall put the question forthwith without further debate or amendment, no deferral under Standing Order 28 (h) being permitted. In the case of any division under this Standing Order, the division bell shall be limited to 10 minutes. +

65.  The minister or person answerable for the Estimates considered by the Standing Committee on Estimates shall provide each member of the Committee and the Clerk of the Committee with advance briefing material which shall include such information as growth rates, interim expenditures for the previous fiscal year, and an explanation of the programs and funding by particular Item.

66.       (a) On the first Item of the first Vote of each set of Estimates, a representative of each recognized Party may speak for not more than 30 minutes and the minister or person answerable for the Estimates is allowed not more than 30 minutes for a right of reply. Thereafter, the Chair of the Standing Committee on Estimates shall ensure that the members adhere strictly to the Vote and Item under consideration and shall apportion the remaining time among the recognized Parties on the Committee.

(b)  When the Committee has concluded its consideration of the Estimates of a ministry or office or the time established for the consideration of such Estimates has expired, the Chair shall put without further amendment or debate every question necessary to dispose of the Estimates.

 

 

Committee Documents

Comité permanent des budgets des dépenses

Comité permanent des budgets des dépenses

Mandat

Bien que le mandat du Comité permanent des budgets des dépenses soit établi à l'article 108 d) du Règlement, les procédures suivies par le comité sont établies dans les articles 59 à 66 du Règlement :

59.  Une fois le budget présenté, le budget des dépenses principal est déposé à l'Assemblée dans les 12 jours de session qui suivent. Le débat sur le budget doit prendre fin au cours de cette période. Si aucun budget n'a été présenté au plus tard le premier jour de session suivant la fête de la Reine, le budget des dépenses principal est déposé au prochain jour de session disponible. Dès son dépôt, le budget des dépenses est réputé avoir été renvoyé au Comité permanent des budgets des dépenses.

60.       a) Le Comité permanent des budgets des dépenses étudie le budget des dépenses d'au moins six et d'au plus 12 ministères et bureaux.

b)         (i) Les membres du Comité choisissent en deux tours les budgets des dépenses des ministères et bureaux qu'ils étudient. A chaque tour, les membres du parti qui forme l'opposition officielle choisissent en premier, ceux du troisième parti à l'Assemblée en nombre de députés choisissent en second, et enfin les membres du parti au pouvoir choisissent en dernier.

(ii)  À chaque tour, les députés de chaque parti peuvent se prononcer en faveur de l'étude du budget des dépenses d'un ou de deux ministères ou bureaux.

c)  Les budgets des dépenses des ministères et bureaux sont étudiés dans l'ordre établi à l'issue des choix effectués conformément à l'alinéa b).

d)  Les membres du Comité qui ont choisi d'étudier certains budgets des dépenses déterminent le temps réservé à chacun d'eux. Si les députés d'un parti reconnu choisissent dans un tour d'étudier le budget des dépenses d'un seul ministère ou bureau, le temps réservé à cette étude n'excède pas 15 heures. Si les députés d'un parti reconnu choisissent dans un tour d'étudier les budgets des dépenses de deux ministères ou bureaux, le temps réservé globalement aux deux études n'excède pas 15 heures.

e)  Le Comité ne doit pas étudier un budget des dépenses si l'Assemblée est en train d'étudier une question, y compris une motion de forme, se rapportant au même secteur de politiques.

61.       a) Le Comité permanent des budgets des dépenses est réputé avoir adopté les budgets des dépenses qui n'ont pas été retenus pour étude et il en fait rapport à l'Assemblée.

b)  Le rapport du Comité est réputé avoir été reçu et les budgets des dépenses des ministères et des bureaux qui y sont nommés sont réputés avoir été adoptés.

62.       a) Les budgets des dépenses supplémentaires sont réputés avoir été renvoyés au Comité permanent des budgets des dépenses à mesure qu'ils sont présentés à l'Assemblée.

b)  Le Comité étudie les budgets des dépenses supplémentaires des ministères et bureaux retenus dans le temps attribué à l'étude des budgets des dépenses principaux aux termes de l'article 60.

c)  Les autres budgets des dépenses supplémentaires sont renvoyés à l'Assemblée. Le rapport du Comité est réputé avoir été reçu et les budgets des dépenses supplémentaires des ministères et des bureaux qui y sont nommés sont réputés avoir été adoptés.

63.       a) Au plus tard le troisième jeudi de novembre de chaque année civile, le Comité permanent des budgets des dépenses présente un seul rapport sur tous les budgets des dépenses et les budgets des dépenses supplémentaires étudiés conformément aux articles 60 et 62.

b)  Si le Comité ne fait pas rapport sur les budgets des dépenses à la date prévue à l'alinéa a), les budgets des dépenses et les budgets des dépenses supplémentaires sont réputés avoir été adoptés par le Comité et le rapport est réputé avoir été fait et reçu par l'Assemblée.

c)  Si des budgets des dépenses supplémentaires ne sont pas présentés à l'Assemblée avant le troisième jeudi de novembre, ou par la suite, ils sont alors réputés avoir été renvoyés au Comité permanent des budgets des dépenses à mesure qu'ils sont présentés à l'Assemblée et avoir été adoptés par le Comité, et le rapport est réputé avoir été fait et reçu par l'Assemblée.

d)  Un ordre est inséré au Feuilleton et Avis pour l'adoption de chacun des budgets des dépenses sur lequel le Comité a fait rapport. Deux heures, réparties également entre les partis reconnus, sont consacrées au débat sur les ordres d'adoption, durée au terme de laquelle le président met aux voix, sans autre débat, toutes les questions nécessaires pour disposer de l'ordre d'adoption des crédits de chaque ministère et bureau nommé dans le rapport du Comité. Il est interdit de présenter une motion proposant l'amendement d'une question. Si un vote par assis et levé est demandé par cinq députés, toutes les mises aux voix sont reportées et une seule sonnerie d'appel se fait entendre pendant 10 minutes.

64.  L'adoption des ordres d'adoption constitue un ordre pour le dépôt d'un projet de loi de crédits fondé sur les résolutions qu'ils contiennent et sur celles que contiennent les adoptions qui sont réputées avoir été faites aux termes des articles 61 et 62. Deux heures, réparties également entre les partis reconnus, sont consacrées au débat de deuxième lecture du projet de loi de crédits, durée au terme de laquelle le président met aux voix, sans autre débat ni amendement, toutes les questions nécessaires pour disposer de cette étape du projet de loi. Le projet de loi de crédits qui a reçu la deuxième lecture passe à l'étape de la troisième lecture; l'ordre de troisième lecture est donné immédiatement et le président met la question aux voix sans autre débat ni amendement, aucun vote différé prévu à l'alinéa 28 h) n'étant permis. Si un vote prévu au présent article a lieu, la durée de la sonnerie d'appel est limitée à 10 minutes.

65.  Le ministre ou la personne responsable du budget des dépenses étudié par le Comité permanent des budgets des dépenses fournit à l'avance, à chaque membre du Comité et au greffier de ce dernier, de la documentation portant notamment sur les taux de croissance, un état provisoire des dépenses de l'exercice écoulé et une explication, poste par poste, de la teneur et du financement des programmes.

66.       a) Lors de la mise aux voix relative au premier poste de chaque série de budgets des dépenses, un représentant de chaque parti reconnu peut prendre la parole pendant au plus 30 minutes et 30 minutes au plus sont réservées au droit de réplique du ministre ou de la personne responsable du budget des dépenses. Le président du Comité permanent des budgets des dépenses veille ensuite à ce que les députés s'en tiennent strictement au vote sur le poste pris en considération et il répartit le temps qui reste entre les partis reconnus qui siègent au Comité.

b)  Lorsque le Comité a achevé l'étude du budget des dépenses d'un ministère ou d'un bureau ou que le temps réservé à cette étude a expiré, le président met aux voix toutes les questions nécessaires pour disposer du budget des dépenses sans amendement ni débat.

 

Documents des comités