Standing Committee on General Government

Standing Committee on General Government

 

Terms of Reference

 

As per Standing Order 108(c), the Standing Committee on General Government, in addition to any matter that may be referred by Order of the House, is empowered to study and report on all matters relating to the mandate, management, organization or operation of the ministries and offices which are assigned to it as well as the agencies, boards and commissions reporting to such ministries and offices. These studies are conducted according to either Standing Order 111 or 126.

 

The Ministries and Offices assigned to the Committee are:

 

Management Board of Cabinet

Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs

Ministry of Economic Development and Growth

Ministry of the Environment and Climate Change

Ministry of Finance

Ministry of Housing

Ministry of Infrastructure

Ministry of Intergovernmental Affairs

Ministry of International Trade

Ministry of Labour

Ministry of Municipal Affairs

Ministry of Natural Resources and Forestry

Ministry of Northern Development and Mines

Ministry of Research, Innovation and Science

Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport

Ministry of Transportation

Office of the Premier and Cabinet Office

Treasury Board Secretariat

Accessibility Directorate

Anti-Racism Directorate

Poverty Reduction Strategy Office

 

These assignments were made on : September 14, 2016

 

Standing Order 111:

 

Under Standing Order 111, the policy field committees may conduct relatively unlimited studies. The only restriction is that the study must relate to a ministry assigned to that committee. The subject-matter and duration of the study are left to the committee to decide. This Standing Order is usually used when the committee agrees on what it wishes to study.

 

Standing Order 126:

 

Once in each Session, each member (including the Chair) of the Standing Committee on General Government, the Standing Committee on Justice Policy and the Standing Committee on Social Policy is entitled to propose a matter to be considered by their particular committee. The matter must relate to the mandate, management, organization or operation of the ministries and offices assigned to the committee as well as the agencies, boards and commissions reporting to such ministries and offices (this list is found as an appendix to the Standing Orders).

 

The proposal of a member under this Standing Order must be adopted by at least two-thirds of the members of the committee, excluding the Chair.

 

A study by the committee under the terms of this Standing Order cannot take precedence over consideration of a government public bill.

 

The committee may present a substantive report to the House and may adopt the text of a draft bill on the subject matter. At least three hours of debate will be allowed on the bill in the House at a time decided upon by the House Leaders of the recognized Parties.

Committee Documents

Comité permanent des affaires gouvernementales

Comité permanent des affaires gouvernementales

 

Mandat

 

Selon l'alinéa 108 c), en plus des affaires renvoyées par ordre de l'Assemblée, le Comité permanent des affaires gouvernementales a le pouvoir d'étudier et de faire des rapports sur toute question relative au mandat, à la gestion, à l'organisation ou au fonctionnement des ministères et des bureaux qui lui sont assignés, ainsi que tous les organismes, conseils et commissions qui relèvent de ces ministères ou de ces bureaux. Ces études sont faites conformément à l'article 111 ou à l'article 126 du Règlement.

 

Les ministères et bureaux assignés au comité sont les suivants :

 

conseil de gestion du gouvernement

ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales

ministère du Développement économique et de la Croissance

ministère de l'Environnement et de l'Action en matière de changement climatique

ministère des Finances

ministère du Logement

ministère de l'Infrastructure

ministère des Affaires intergouvernementales

ministère du Commerce international

ministère du Travail

ministère des Affaires municipales

ministère des Richesses naturelles et des Forêts

ministère du Développement du Nord et des Mines

ministère de la Recherche, de l'Innovation et des Sciences

ministère du Tourisme, de la Culture et du Sport

ministère des Transports

cabinet de la Première ministre et le Bureau du Conseil des ministres

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor

Direction générale de l'accessibilité pour l'Ontario

Direction générale de l’action contre le racisme

Bureau de la stratégie de réduction de la pauvreté 

 

Ces assignations ont été faites le : 14 septembre 2016

 

Article 111 du Règlement

 

Conformément à l'article 111 du Règlement, les comités des domaines des politiques peuvent faire un nombre relativement illimité d'études. La seule restriction est que l'étude doit concerner un ministère assigné au comité. Le sujet et la durée de l'étude sont laissés à la discrétion du comité. Cet article du Règlement est généralement appliqué lorsque le comité est d'accord sur ce qu'il désire étudier.

 

Article 126 du Règlement

 

Une fois par session, chaque membre du Comité permanent des affaires gouvernementales, du Comité permanent de la justice et du Comité permanent sur la politique sociale (y compris les président(e)s) peut proposer une question à être étudiée par leur comité. La question doit avoir trait au mandat, à l'administration, à l'organisation ou au fonctionnement des ministères ou bureaux qui sont assignés au comité, ainsi que les organismes, les conseils et les commissions qui relèvent de ces ministères et de ces bureaux (la liste de ceux-ci se trouve en appendice au Règlement).

 

La proposition d'un membre conformément à cet article du Règlement doit être adoptée par les deux tiers des membres du comité au moins, sans compter le ou la président(e).

 

Une étude conformément à cet article du Règlement ne peut pas avoir priorité sur l'étude d'un projet de loi d'intérêt public d'initiative gouvernementale.

 

Le comité peut présenter un rapport substantiel à la Chambre et adopter le texte d'un avant-projet de loi sur la question. Au moins trois heures seront réservées aux débats sur le projet de loi à la Chambre à un moment dont les leaders parlementaires des partis reconnus auront décidé.

Documents des comités